2012 and new travels to Asia ......


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Hong Kong Island » The Peak
February 20th 2012
Published: February 20th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Feb 14, 2012- Valentine's Day- nothing like boarding a plan for a 17+ hour flight to Hong Kong. I have traveled through HK airport several times in my journey to China last year. This year, was my first chance to actually stay in Hong Kong... and I stayed in style- the Four Seasons is connected to the IFC mall which is where my companies offices are located. The Four Seasons was amazing, i kept chuckling to my self saying you have a cheeseburger, beer and tequila shot girl staying in a rich / fancy hotel- too funny! The people of Hong Kong were great and it was easier to get acclimated becacuse everyone speaks English. They still follow customs from when they were under British rule such as driving on the left hand side of the road. I do have to say that they drive a lot better than their friends on mainland china. I did not feel like I was going to to die everytime I got in a taxi or car.... 😊 .... I was so happy to be able to meet the team in our Hong Kong office, they are so friendly and welcoming and it was nice to see how the team is structured and how they operate day to day....

I had Friday night and Saturday to explore the beautiful island. I was very happy with the weather too; a bit overcast but in the 60 and 70 the whole time - nice and warm..... I climbed up to Victoria's Peak which has an amazing few of Victoria's harbor and the city itself... On advice from a good friend ( Mary) who has been to HK- I took the ferry over to Kowloon... of course the whole ferry ride all I could keep thinking and picturing was I was going to arrive in front of a structure that looked like Kowloon restaurant in MA. LOL- trust me - Kowloon is nothing like that place... 😊

Many times as I was walking around or taking in some of the views, I felt like my brother was with me sharing in the experiences from his view up in heaven... which help to bring some peace on my travels to China...


Additional photos below
Photos: 23, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



20th February 2012

Laughed at the comment of going to Kowloon!! Are any of the above photos from there? It is nice to see flowers out.. a nice touch of spring :-) and of course, the palm trees...

Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0611s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb