I like Thanksgiving, Thanksgiving Day


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Hong Kong Island » Stanley
November 25th 2010
Published: November 25th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Whew! Where does the time go?

It is Thanksgiving here in Hong Kong- a holiday that no one else really celebrates 😊. We celebrate at my school (although not with a day off...). There are feasts and assemblies and caring and sharing, etc. It has really been a lovely day so far- if not just a little bit nuts! I have several Thanksgiving dinners planned for this weekend- 3 to be exact. Thursday, Friday AND Saturday. I will most likely be in a food coma by the end of the weekend. And my friend Jackie just asked me to run a 10K with her on Sunday.....do you think I will be able to move??

On this day of thanks...I am finding myself thankful for many things in my life. The first thing I am thankful for is all of my friends and family (and fiance) 😉 both at home and here in Hong Kong. I don't know what I would do without all of your support. I am blessed to have such wonderful people in my life. The second thing I am grateful for is this amazing opportunity I have been given to live in this place. It started out a little rough- it was a difficult transition from Valparaiso, a place where I had such a support system, to Hong Kong, a place where I didn't know anyone. It was also difficult to transition into teaching and into a new school. But I really feel in these last couple weeks that I have started to embrace what I have been given. I am changing personally, professionally, physically- I am changing in every way possible (in a good way) 😊. I feel like I am starting to understand my gifts and my goals in life. I am really enjoying my teaching. I am enjoying living here. I am enjoying learning and singing.

I am still VERY excited to be coming home in 3 weeks!!! I can't believe the time is here! It will be so nice to see all of you at home. I look forward to eating lots of American and Mexican food with all of you. 😊

Love you all!!!!!!!!!!!! Happy Thanksgiving!!!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.128s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0617s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb