Tongli- Back to medieval/feudal land of China.


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China
June 28th 2012
Published: June 28th 2012
Edit Blog Post

I believe at this point there are only two places that still exist in the world as a memory of the collective idea of traditional China: Epcot Center and Tongli! This is it. Tongli is a small feudal town of stones with gardens and your all imagination of what you should expect from China. It is called the Venice of the east. Many canals go alone the small city with bridges, pagodas and houses that never disappoint you. It is near Suzhuo and very similar in a way, but bigger and much more rich as historical heritage and gardens.<span><span><span> After you pay 100Y you have access to more than 10 historical spots, gardens and buildings. It is a very touristic town, you are not sure if you are in a set or in a real city.<span>But it is nice.



I walk a lot. I ate a nice dinner near the canal while the mosquitoes were biting me with more pleasure than the one I enjoyed in my meal.



I met a family of mom and daughter that are traveling to china for 3 weeks without a plan and are completely lost. I helped them to decide their journey. I wish I could stay with them! There were funny doing noises to the waitress to define which animal there was in their menu. Cua cua, wuau wuaa, muu but in Dutch, they are from Netherlands…The local people did not get it. But I was laugh a lot, I identify with them with the absent of language and in with the need to start playing mimic games!



It is nice here, but while you see napkins on the table, the offer of light coke in the menu, and the availability of toilets in the bathroom, toilers to actually sit on them, that there are not more latrines around here! So<span> you become aware that the adventure and the trip is getting to the end…and it feels sad, very sad.



I went to sleep after I let some local Chinese student practice their English with me. At this point I do not explain anymore than English is not my first language. I am more than aware that whatever I have in background is more than enough to make them more than happy…

Advertisement



29th June 2012

Que gracioso
Buenisimo el viaje Besos

Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 42; dbt: 0.0453s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb