Haila'er, the most northern city in China.


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China
January 7th 2011
Published: January 7th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Jia let me stay in her hometown for about 10 days...it's such a different world here! With a culture of its own, one gets to experience a mix of Mongolian, Russian and Chinese architecture, food and language.

Written while in Chengdu:

Unfortunately, I was really really sick (and still am), especially on the 5th. I thought I was going to die. And it was on Jia's birthday, too.

We saw plenty of snow statues and ice castles. There are mini-cities of snow buildings there!

The best part about Haila'er was checking something off the ol' bucket list of mine. Right before I left for Chengdu, Jia's mom took me to buy a morin khuur, because she knew I always wanted one! (For those of you who don't know, the morin khuur is also known as the Mongolian horse fiddle, and is Mongolia's national instrument. The morin khuur gets its name from the carved horse head on top of every morin khuur's neck. It has quite a long history...and the beauty of it is: its sound is made to mimic the Mongolian friend, or the horse. It has a very, very powerful (and almost melancholic) sound to it.
The plane ride to Haila'er.The plane ride to Haila'er.The plane ride to Haila'er.

The flight only took about two hours.
But it's so beautiful...so moving...that I want to cry everytime I hear it.

That was the best 200 dollars I've ever spent in my life. Because I know this instrument it going to play a big role in what shapes me...and makes me.


Additional photos below
Photos: 79, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Ghengis Khan.Ghengis Khan.
Ghengis Khan.

There are statues of him everywhere here!
It's so cold here...It's so cold here...
It's so cold here...

...that the weather permits locals to make beautiful sculptures of snow all around Haila'er.
Mongolian-style restaurant.Mongolian-style restaurant.
Mongolian-style restaurant.

A drink made in Haila'er. And full of berries to boot!
Mongolian-style restaurant.Mongolian-style restaurant.
Mongolian-style restaurant.

Chinese white wine (or "bai jiu"). It's SO strong!
Mongolian-style restaurant.Mongolian-style restaurant.
Mongolian-style restaurant.

My dinner---sheep intestines, boiled blood and sheep meat.
Mongolian-style restaurant.Mongolian-style restaurant.
Mongolian-style restaurant.

The boiled blood tastes like just as it sounds...
Mongolian-style restaurant.Mongolian-style restaurant.
Mongolian-style restaurant.

Boiled blood. They boil the blood in intestines, squeeze it out, and cut it into pellets.


Tot: 0.185s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0478s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb