Internship-Gutianshan, China (cont'd)


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China
August 27th 2009
Published: August 27th 2009
Edit Blog Post

One of the bugs (Caribid)One of the bugs (Caribid)One of the bugs (Caribid)

It was bigger and scarier in real life... Actually, this guy was quite nice and didn't want to hurt us, until I put my finger on him...
- Despite all of these dangerous-looking insects, Maria insists on being most scared of your common earthworm, because it's "just disgusting." She screams "Holy @$&!" and I look for a poisonous snake with shovel-in-hand, but an earthworm wiggles by. A big bug with the jaws of, well, "Jaws" crawls towards her with malicious intent and she doesn't care. I care.

- Oh yes. Planes, trains and automobiles. It was (a 3-hour train from Freiburg to Frankfurt,) an 11-hour flight, 6-hour train ride and a 2-3 hour taxi ride to the hotel. The train ride was authentic loaded with Chinese, soup and staring (mostly not from us).
- Don't know what else to write here, but I should mention that I will work another 3-4 weeks after my short trip to Shanghai. After the work, I will try to travel in other parts of China by myself. I'll send word of the trip and such, but it depends on time. I hope you like the pictures and I hope all is well with you.

Peace,

Shane


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

Town:  Zu ChuangTown:  Zu Chuang
Town: Zu Chuang

A local restaurant--better food than the nice hotel.
Mount SanqingshanMount Sanqingshan
Mount Sanqingshan

We got rained on and it was very scary being high on a single-track wood trail surrounded by boulders and granite mountain tops whilst lightning struck and thunder sounded... it was awesome, 'cause we're still here.
Mount SanqingshanMount Sanqingshan
Mount Sanqingshan

Taoist temple
Uhm, a dog.Uhm, a dog.
Uhm, a dog.

No, as far as I know they don't eat them in this region.
Main Experiment SiteMain Experiment Site
Main Experiment Site

Where I will be a mountain goat in the sun.


Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0336s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb