Whirlwind tour of China


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China
January 6th 2005
Published: January 6th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Mag Lev Train in ShanghaiMag Lev Train in ShanghaiMag Lev Train in Shanghai

This train takes you from the airport to a part of town that is not very convenient, but...
I'm back in Hong Kong after 4 days in China.

I left early monday by bus to downtown Hong Kong, took a train to the airport flew to Shanghai, took the Mag Lev train (at 431KPH) to Pudong and took a subway to the Bund. Once there I wandered the streets of Shanghai through historic sections, tourist sections and on some back streets that were really amazing. I eventually made it to my hotel. I had a fun night out in Shanghai, the people there are friendly and the night life is great.

I left the next morning for Beijing. I toured Tiananmen square and met some students who took me around to some other parts of the city. I dined on Peking Duck, yummy. The next morning I took a tour to the Great Wall, we stopped at the Ming tombs first (as well as a stop at a jade factory and a chinese medicine center). The wall was GREAT though the day was clody so the views were not as good as they could have been. My tour group was nice and from all over the world. Our guide Lulu was very good (I actually ran into
Mag Lev Train in Shanghai 2Mag Lev Train in Shanghai 2Mag Lev Train in Shanghai 2

... it goes 431 KPH, I missed the picture at that exact speed. The whole trip is only 9 minutes but worth every RMB I paid.
her the next day on the street as I was leaving town, amazing in a city of 13 million)

My final day was spent in the Forbidden City, but my camera had died. Strange symptom, pictures looked fine as they were set up but came out only white when they were taken, the video function worked prefectly??????

I have to get that fixed tomorrow.

Overall, I enjoyed Shanghai more than Beijing, Shanghai was less touristy. In Beijing, everyone wants to sell you something.


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

Chinese ChessChinese Chess
Chinese Chess

I found a group of 20 people watching this chess match, this guy was struggling on each move, I watched for 15 minutes and have no idea how the game is played.
Street BarbershopStreet Barbershop
Street Barbershop

As I wandered down a small street, away from the touristy areas I came across this barbershop.
Chillin in the RockeryChillin in the Rockery
Chillin in the Rockery

Most of the chinese gardens I have seen have a rockery like this.
Guarding MaoGuarding Mao
Guarding Mao

Here is a shot of a guard, near the Forbidden City, with Mao looking over him.
Kites over Tiananmen SquareKites over Tiananmen Square
Kites over Tiananmen Square

These bird kites were everywhere in the square.
My student friendsMy student friends
My student friends

Tony and Xu Pine took me all over old Beijing
Countdown to the OlympicsCountdown to the Olympics
Countdown to the Olympics

All of Beijing seems ready for 2008!!
Mao Says I'm a HeroMao Says I'm a Hero
Mao Says I'm a Hero

At 888 meters this is a high spot on the Great Wall. This tablet quotes Mao "if you have not reached this point you are not yet a hero" I did therefor I am.
The WallThe Wall
The Wall

I can only imagine the view on a clear day. Visiting the wall was a highlight of Beijing.
Forbidden CityForbidden City
Forbidden City

I caught this on my first day in Beijing. It is my only good photo of the Forbidden City, since my camera died the day I visited, it has since been replaced.
Night Food market in BeijingNight Food market in Beijing
Night Food market in Beijing

I ate here my last night in Beijing, It was snowing so I figured the meat was well preserved before cooking, not sure if I would be so eager on a summer night???
View of Pudong from the BundView of Pudong from the Bund
View of Pudong from the Bund

There is a nice river walk area in Shanghai called the Bund, the river is constantly full of boats moving very fast.
More Pudong SkylineMore Pudong Skyline
More Pudong Skyline

All my pictures here were limited by the haze. Pudong is where most US companies have built their China Headquaters, it is filled with cool skyscapers.


Tot: 0.13s; Tpl: 0.041s; cc: 9; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0478s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb