Jinghong (21-23 Sep 13)


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Yunnan » Jinghong
September 25th 2013
Published: September 25th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Road to Xishuangbanna RegionRoad to Xishuangbanna RegionRoad to Xishuangbanna Region

Passed some stunning terrain.
And so after that brief one week transit in Laos, and another 7h bus ride later, I say hello to the Middle Kingdom. Crossing the Boten-Mohan border, it became apparent very quickly that I'd entered another country. Gone were the quiet small-laned streets and rural backdrops. Enter large, super-highways, flanked by equally imposing but tackily opulent buildings. Yes, welcome to China, centre of the ongoing Asian economic miracle.
And my first stop was Jinghong, the capital of the Xishuangbanna region in Yunnan province, in the far southwest of this large country. Despite it being very much a secondary city, it could hardly be more different from my last stop in Laos. Bustling, with lots of people. LOUD-talking people (we are in China after all), many conversing in what I presume to be some kind of Yunnanese dialect that is completely unintelligible to me. In contrast to their speaking volume, I observed that many of them were riding silent electric scooters that sneak up unbeknownst to you on the sidewalks.

I was reminded also of the highly objectionable habit that I'd previous observed and which many others have remarked about the Mainland Chinese - they spit EVERYWHERE and practically all the
Rock GamblingRock GamblingRock Gambling

You buy a rock, they cut it open for you, and you hope it's pure jade inside. Somebody spell "scam" please.
time. And despite having seen my fair share of questionable toilets along many long bus routes across all of Southeast Asia, the few Chinese ones that I've come across so far already have them all beat. Some of these highway gas station restrooms are frighteningly off-putting. I do remember a Chinese teacher of mine back home in Singapore previously remarking about the horrendous toilets in China, but that must have been some twenty years ago. Despite the breakneck speed that its economy has grown since, I guess some things just take a long time to change. But well I'm not here for the toilets. Lest I end this entry on a grotesque note, I shall say that I am of course still looking forward to everything else this much-storied country has to offer, at least in Yunnan province for a start. Stayed at the Bus Terminal Hotel.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Say what?Say what?
Say what?

So apart from standard Mandarin, they seem to use a local Xishuangbanna script as well, which looks like a cross between Burmese and Thai to me.
MenglaMengla
Mengla

First transit stop in China, and already struck by contrasting gaudy opulence...
Got gas?Got gas?
Got gas?

Possibly the most make-shift petrol station I've ever seen. Yes, our driver filled up here.
First Taste of Real Chinese FoodFirst Taste of Real Chinese Food
First Taste of Real Chinese Food

Indeed as salty and oily as everyone says. I'm gonna have to get used to this for a while!


Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.025s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0569s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb