8 INCROYABLE months on a bike!


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Xinjiang
March 21st 2014
Published: April 21st 2014
Edit Blog Post

Happy cyclist! Happy cyclist! Happy cyclist!

Sunburned, tired, dirty... but so free!
I still can’t believe it’s over. It’s actually been a while now. After cycling from Gansu Province to Xinjiang, then on to the Stans , Tajikistan, Kyrgyzstan, Kazakhstan and Uzbekistan, I am back with Becky in Beijing, China. I have a good job (back to teaching) and surprisingly often enough the sky is amazingly blue over the city. Of course there isn’t a single day when I don’t day-dream of being back on the saddle, with the wind in my hair, the sun baking my forearms. I miss the road and everything that came with it: the spectacular mountains, the never-ending deserts, the silent nights of camping behind a dune or by a blue river at high altitude, the elements I faced alone in my poncho (ha!), the flabbergasted looks on people’s faces when they saw me arrive from nowhere on my heavy-loaded bike, the invitations for tea, vodka or kumis (mare’s milk)… I’m smiling.

It has been the experience of a lifetime. I knew before I left that I was about to engage in an amazing adventure but it really turned out to be incredible. And I mean incredible in the sense that I can’t believe the things I did, and the life I led on the road.

I am back to wearing slacks, formal shoes and collar-shirts. This is the version of me most people know: clean-cut, clean-shaven, tucked-in, organized Jeremy. I can understand why my new colleagues found it hard to believe that the pictures they were looking at of a dirty bearded man on the bike was me… But it was, or it IS me!! I rode my bike for thousands of kilometers (I didn’t have a bike-computer so how many thousands?), I slept under a tent, i slept in yurts; I rinsed in rivers when there was a river, sometimes didn’t shower for a week… I drank water from streams, rode up 4000m-high mountains, hiked through sand dunes, walked on the Great Wall in Gansu Province, spent a few days with a Tibetan family, danced at a Kyrgyz wedding, sang with Uzbek kids, joined a horse festival in the Pamir Mountains, went to the opera in Kazakhstan, met an eagle hunter, taught an English lesson in a school in Uzbekistan, met cyclists from all around the world, got to experience nude… male hot springs at the border with Afghanistan, and
best place to camp!best place to camp!best place to camp!

in the Tian Shan, Xinjiang Province
I’ve made friends in countries I couldn’t even clearly place on a map not that long ago…

The best thing about bicycle touring is the freedom you get. I could start my day whenever I wanted; I could linger in the most beautiful places as long as I wanted (I could even camp there!). I didn’t have to wait for the bus. I didn’t have to negotiate with taxi drivers or deal with any tour guide. I got to travel at my own pace and really see the sights in-between the tourist attractions.

I loved camping! Yes, I had to cook my own food; I often didn’t have running water (rivers), and on a few nights it got very cold (my water bottles froze inside my tent on many occasions) but I didn’t owe anything to anyone. It was just me and the stars, the birds and I, the dunes and I, and the sound of water or the ice-cracking at night. I remember cooking noodles outside my tent in the Uzbek desert while admiring the pink and purple sky at dusk. One of the best feelings was to unzip my tent in the morning (usually early) and
a group of Uzbek students around my bikea group of Uzbek students around my bikea group of Uzbek students around my bike

my bike did attract a lot of attention
finding myself all alone in pristine scenery. Perfect stillness of the sand desert, gorgeous quietness of the peaks, slow awakening of a valley, ideal tranquility of the steppe: good morning to insect-me! And the scenery would change so often too. You’d really be amazed at how much distance you can cover on a bike and how fast the landscape can change. I think that Kyrgyzstan is the best example here as the scenery changes every 30km: from red sand stone to blue gorges, from green fields to stony mountain tops, from modern cities to ancient mud-walled villages.

And naturally this trip wouldn’t be as memorable without meeting the locals. The people of Central Asia are renowned for their hospitality and they highly deserve this reputation. I remember drinking Kumis (fermented mare’s milk) with a Kyrgyz army officer right at the border. In Tajikistan the immigration police invited me and 2 other cyclists over for vodka and preserved rabbit meat-spread after we helped them put up their newly-acquired tent… I remember getting crepes for breakfast in a yurt in the middle of nowhere in Kyrgyzstan! In Xinjiang many Uyghur truck drivers stopped ahead of me to offer me water and cantaloupe… in Kazakhstan young guys waved me over and filled my panniers with apples, pomegranates and bread. In Xinjiang an elder man guarding a factory I was camping by woke me up one morning to tell me that breakfast was served in his hut… I could go on and on with memories of drivers offering me kabobs at the bottom of a mountain pass… or a Red Bull at the top! Many Uzbek families, Uyghur and Kazakh farmers offered to put a roof over my head. I will never forget these people’s generosity and the smiles. The hundreds of smiles. And how could I forget the young Uzbek herdsman who surprised me by my tent one evening in the Tian Shan (Celestial Mountains) of Xinjiang? He made me translate into Mandarin the American hip-hop songs he had on his cell-phone. It didn’t take him long to show me his dance moves on the grass floor! Haha! Lifelong memories, I’m telling you!

As you can guess riding from Lanzhou (China) to Uzbekistan wasn’t duck soup and cherry pie every day. On Day 1 of this adventure I clearly remember getting lost in the suburbs on Lanzhou City, Gansu, and ending
it wasn't easy every dayit wasn't easy every dayit wasn't easy every day

altitude, the heat, the cold, the wind (argh the wind!), the rain, the dust, the pot holes, the sand, the gravel, the snow, more wind... It wasn't easy.
up riding an extra 40km. Good start, Jeremy! And then I hadn’t studied the map nor the topography and how shocked I was to realize that from Lanzhou to Xiahe, it would be uphill for 3 consecutive days! My bike and panniers felt so heavy! I remember eating dust in China, going through some very dark industrialized areas, with the sky looking so grey and threatening. It seriously looked like I was heading to hell on several occasions. And then the wind through the great Taklamakan Desert… Non-stop head-wind for more than 10 days. And at night the insatiable wind would shake my tent up and I was afraid of flash storms that would sweep my tent and I away… And I got flat tires and broken spokes in the middle of nowhere (so many flat tires in the Wakhan Corridor!). Usually you just put your inner-tube in water and you can see where the hole is and patch it right away. But in the middle of the desert, I didn’t want to waste any water, so I would inflate the tube and bring it to my face so that I could feel the air going out but there was
Kyrgyz yurts in Xinjiang ProvinceKyrgyz yurts in Xinjiang ProvinceKyrgyz yurts in Xinjiang Province

I have entered Central Asia
so much wind, I couldn’t feel anything! So I did inflate it and ride 3 km… and inflate again and again... until the hole got bigger! (Yes, you're gonna wonder why I didn't simply use a spare inner-tube... because I was stupid and I had bought 26 inch-tubes when my wheels were 28''!! Live and learn my friend, live and learn!) And then outside Urumqi, the road went uphill for 2 consecutive days to reach 4280m. I remember going up these sharp switchbacks on gravel road and sand, under the scorching sun. And then a car passes by and the passenger tells me to hurry up because snow is coming… I was wearing shorts and a t-shirt and I was sweating like crazy. “What is he talking about?! Snow? No way!” 10 minutes later it was snowing on me and all of my winter clothes were naturally at the very bottom of my panniers! Imagine your Frenchman on top of the pass in the snow, taking off all of his clothes before putting on more layers! Unbelievable! And then the suffocating ride through no-man’s land between Kyrgyzstan and Tajikistan, going up from 3100m to 4280m (again!) in 20km. Steeeeeeep! I couldn’t seem to catch my breath. I was cold but my chest was burning. My panniers felt so damn heavy. And then the landslides had completely covered parts of the Pamir Highway and the road was under water. I had to take off my shoes and carry my bike over my head several times on the same day, knee-deep in freezing water. But these challenging moments are definitely what made this trip so memorable. It was great to mix traveling with sport, sightseeing with a physical challenge. I all the more appreciated the rewards. That one day in Xinjiang after suffering (and crying) in the switchbacks of the mountain pass with the snow coming down on me, I went downhill (and froze my butt!) but a few km down the road, I was greeted by a rainbow and the most beautiful valley to set up camp… and meet my Uzbek-Chinese hip-hop herder!

Do I have any regrets? I should have studied some Russian before going on this trip. It would have been nice to have proper conversations in Central Asia. I learned quite a few key words in Russian and I used body language like crazy all the time but it was tiring and I didn’t always get to understand the answers to my questions… In terms of itinerary I think I chose well. I got to explore 2 of the biggest Chinese provinces, places that I didn’t know anything about, and areas that are still not catered for tourists. That was a good choice. I could have cycled longer westwards in the Tian Shan of Xinjiang instead of heading south (desert) to Kuerle. The Tian Shan (Celestial Mountains) were one of the most splendid places I got to cycle through and I sincerely hope to make it back there in the next few years. One drawback in China, Gansu, was the price of hotel rooms. Gansu is not touristy yet, there were very few hotels that had the license to host foreigners, so my options were limited and prices often high. I could/should have camped more at the beginning of my trip, but in China, there are people everywhere and it’s hard to find quiet places (although it was much easier in Xinjiang Province – it did feel like I had left China already after I entered Urumqi…). And on 2 occasions in China, when I either found
I received countless invitations. I felt so fortunate!I received countless invitations. I felt so fortunate!I received countless invitations. I felt so fortunate!

Here in Uzbekistan with guys who play in a band. Cheers!
a cheap hotel or a nice place to camp, the police paid me a visit and politely (but firmly) asked me to move to a “safer location” (=expensive hotel) in town.

What’s next? I am going to be in Beijing for a year or 2, teaching English to kids in a training center. I do have a couple of book projects (IELTS / TOEFL textbooks + one about my traveling maybe, but still aimed at students of English) and then Becky and I will be saving money for another adventure on the road. Yes, Becky wants to experience life on a bike by my side! Where will we start? For how long? We do have plenty of time to think about it. Maybe we’ll pick up where I stopped… Iran, Turkey and then Europe? That would be wonderful to discover Europe on a bike! I am incorrigible! I am already day-dreaming… I hope that next time before we go traveling, I can get in touch with language teachers in the countries we’ll pass through and maybe Becky and I can teach some English, French or Mandarin in local schools. It would be great to meet local teachers and students,
My trip started in Lanzhou in May 2013My trip started in Lanzhou in May 2013My trip started in Lanzhou in May 2013

where I met Mr Pu who invited me for dinner and drinks. I went back to my hotel very late and left Lanzhou with a serious headache the next day! No wonder I got lost in the suburbs on my way out of Lanzhou...
and exchange our experience as teachers, travelers, world citizens… Food for thought.

May the wind be in your back! Keep dreaming because dreams can come true.

Best from Jeremy


Additional photos below
Photos: 391, Displayed: 30


Advertisement

In Gansu, on my way to XiaheIn Gansu, on my way to Xiahe
In Gansu, on my way to Xiahe

This is Hui territory. This was the experimental part of my trip. I was gone for almost 2 weeks to ride from Lanzhou to Xiahe and learn more about my bike and the way my body and mind would react to long hours of riding. I didn't have my panniers and was only carrying the strict minimum.
I made it to the Monastery town of XiaheI made it to the Monastery town of Xiahe
I made it to the Monastery town of Xiahe

Tibetan community in Gansu Province
in Xiahe, Tibetan monks everywherein Xiahe, Tibetan monks everywhere
in Xiahe, Tibetan monks everywhere

These ones were on holidays in Xiahe, visiting the monastery just like me
sheep herders in Ganan, Gansu. We sat down for a whilesheep herders in Ganan, Gansu. We sat down for a while
sheep herders in Ganan, Gansu. We sat down for a while

I can speak quite a bit of Mandarin and this was very helpful during the early stage of my trip in Gansu Province.
on my way to Xiahe I met Larry, a young Tibetanon my way to Xiahe I met Larry, a young Tibetan
on my way to Xiahe I met Larry, a young Tibetan

Larry invited me to stay with his family and at night we played basketball and hung out with his friends. We are still in touch.
back to Lanzhou, Gansu. back to Lanzhou, Gansu.
back to Lanzhou, Gansu.

I took the train back to Beijing to see Becky for a week and got proper bike panniers to start my trip for good, back in Lanzhou.


21st April 2014

I was so happy to hear that Becky wants to join you next time...
I thought it was going to be a choice between her and the road. Now you can "have your cake and eat it too." The TB community looks forward to your completion of the Silk Road and your blogs. Meanwhile blog about life in China with Becky...and the joys of teaching languages. And you might go back and tell about your life in the U.S. and Australia.
22nd April 2014

Fantastic summary!
Thanks for the lovely summary of your incredible bike trip, I especially loved reading about the encounters you had with local people. Even after just a month away, putting on work clothes and shoes seemed odd - so I can imagine how you felt going back to city and working life again. Hope you hear about your next adventures soon! :)
22nd April 2014

Congratulations! What I loved the most is how extremely happy you look on all your photos! Please, don't stop blogging after this. All the best
23rd April 2014
lake Karakul

How surreal! I loved these lines: "Yes, I had to cook my own food; I often didn’t have running water (rivers), and on a few nights it got very cold (my water bottles froze inside my tent on many occasions) but I didn’t owe anything to anyone. It was just me and the stars, the birds and I, the dunes and I, and the sound of water or the ice-cracking at night." -- such a liberating and self-aware journey!
23rd April 2014
this summarizes Kyrgyzstan on a bike!

Freedom on the open road...
Great summary of a most amazing journey! I love the freedom that you got, stopping where ever you wanted and seeing things up close, better than in a bus or car. Fabulous encounters with the locals that touched my heart, too. I'm sure you and Becky will have some adventures in China, so I look forward to those. Bon voyage!
23rd April 2014
At Lake Karakol, south of Kashgar, on the way to Pakistan

I CAN DO ANYTHING
Fabulous adventure...fabulous achievement...how wonderful you could share it...with locals...with Becky...and with your TB friends in the ether. While memories may fade over time you have zillions of great photos to relive and revive your soul. But one thing that will remain with you I am sure...is the knowledge that you can do anything you set your mind to...yep...anything.
9th May 2014

Thanks for sharing
This last log sums it up, how incredible it was. Amazed about organizing all gear for such grand trip and puzzled what part of Europe would be nice to cycle, may be Finland for me in the summer.. Welcome to the Baltics if you ever make to this part :) Sure, its nothing of significance of nature like isolated mountains and deserts of Asia. yes, better lets keep dreaming :)

Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 19; qc: 36; dbt: 0.0467s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb