Back to Lhasa much to my relief


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Tibet » Lhasa
July 7th 2010
Published: July 11th 2010
Edit Blog Post

More Amazing SceneryMore Amazing SceneryMore Amazing Scenery

On the way back to Lhasa
We began our drive back to Lhasa at 8:30, a half hour earlier than planned. I knew Pussang would be in the lobby early. The route back didn't detour around the lake and did take about 5 hours, but the scenery was no less stunning than yesterday. We stopped a couple of times to take photos, but skipped lunch. At one point we got out of the van and were greeted in perfect English by a Tibetian boy about 4 years old. 'Hello, welcome to Tibet! You are very nice. Please join us for something to eat!' Wow! Where did he learn that? When we got out of the van, his eyes went right to my white legs and he wrapped his arms around them and wouldn't stop touching me until his mom yelled at him! Hilarious! The Tibetians, especially the ones who still live in small villages, are very dark skinned and I imagine he had never touched legs like mine. They are quite white even though I had a great tan after my Cambodia trip in April.

When we got back to Lhasa, Kate and I got lunch at the same place I went with Pussang and then
Never a boring momentNever a boring momentNever a boring moment

The scenery in Tibet was always breathtaking.
I walked around to do a bit of shopping. Two Tibetian girls, 21 years old, asked me if they could walk with me and practice their English. I said yes so they walked the pilgrim circuit with me for about half and hour. Only one of them spoke, but her English was very good. The other was too shy. Both were beautiful and they told me they work in a Tibetian night club and go to English class during the day. Now, I don't know what a Tibetian night club is like, but I know it does not involved prostitution. They were really lovely and eventually said goodbye. They didn't want anything from me except conversation.

I wandered around trying to find the Muslim area and finally did. There is a small mosque there and people were mostly selling everyday things. I also found the street where they make all the offerings to the icons, trunks, and traditional Tibetian tailor shops. I enjoy walking around this part of Lhasa.

So, at the end of the day, I went back to my hotel and asked myself if I would recommend the trip to Shigatse to anyone. In the end, I decided no. I think people who visit Tibet would be much better off to do what Kate did and trek through the wilderness of Tibet suffering altitude sickness (5300meters) and all. I met another group that is going camping for two nights at Yamdrok Tso Lake and will do a couple of day treks. I wish I had done that instead. But, I am here and I enjoy Lhasa, so no use regretting my decision.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Tibetian IncenseTibetian Incense
Tibetian Incense

We stopped at a small incense factory. There was a much larger Chinese one just down the road. We didn't stop at that one...


Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0455s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb