Medical Schools


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Tianjin
May 27th 2010
Published: June 30th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Have you ever met someone and been completely convinced that they would solve your life's problems?
I did. Today.

He is a director of the Tianjin Teaching Hospital for Chinese Medicine. And he described the efforts to mainstream and incorporate TCM into the healthcare system. Then he described the foundation of TCM. As he was describing it, I realized that he could solve every. single. one. of my problems. All I need is about six months in China, a ton of money, and to get over my fear of random needles sticking into my head!!

There are also steam tables, stinky herbs, and some cupping involved. But it's okay, I love steam and massages!

Later in the afternoon we visited the Teaching Hospital. That place was crazy. Let's just say that it was a full sized hospital with multiple buildings. And every single department you could ever possibly need in a hospital. Otolaryngology? Check. Dermatology? Check. Surgery? Check. Opthamology? Yes. Something gology that I didn't even understand the word for? Definitely.

I wish I could have seen a surgery.

They let us walk in and out of the patient rooms and observe here. HIPAA hasn't taken effect yet. The long dead psychologist wanna be in me was freaking out over the patient violations. But no one seemed to mind.

I couldn't bring myself to take pictures of someone getting acupuncture for depression though.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0452s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb