Trip to The Great Wall, part 2!!


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » The Great Wall
May 7th 2014
Published: May 7th 2014
Edit Blog Post

(for some reason, my blog can't go on 1 blog so I have had to do it over 2??!!!)



So, when we were reaching the last couple of sections of the wall, I think I may have looked tired and worn out as the people selling wooden toys and water (yes, in the middle of nowhere selling!!) offered me to sit with them and have a drink of water but by this time, if I had stopped I do not think my feet would go again so I kept on moving!! But we made it to the end, it took us 3 hours!



At the bottom and the end of the wall , there was a lovely man selling the best ice lollies I have ever tasted!! It wasn't a sunny day but it was really hot and that ice lolly went down a treat!! We walked through the pretty gardens and was heading back to the car, we had to walk past a small temple....it was at the top of a small hill and had a small walkway path to walk along to get to the next gardens......I was in my own little world, looking at the flowers and thinking to myself, wow I've just walked along the great Wall of China when all of a sudden this arm from nowhere grabs me and pulls me into the Temple!!! My God, it frightened the life out of me! The man said "its ok, I am a Monk, come with me and we will pray together. I will show you how" I was so shocked that I just stood there, took the candle he handed me. Then I put my hands together how he showed me and bowed 3 times and then lit the candle. The Monk then blessed me good luck and off I went with my day!!! I was not expecting that to happen!!!!!



We all had a lovely day and a great experience of China. We all slept well after all of that walking and it took a couple of days to recover from our jelly legs!!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

The Great WallThe Great Wall
The Great Wall

THE BEST ICE LOLLY IN THE WORLD!!!!!!
The Great WallThe Great Wall
The Great Wall

William has a great view!!
The Great WallThe Great Wall
The Great Wall

Half way mark!!!
The Great WallThe Great Wall
The Great Wall

The famous pose!!!!


Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0377s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb