Grey Rainy Skies


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Sichuan » Chengdu
June 4th 2012
Published: June 4th 2012
Edit Blog Post

For those of you that are hoping for images, well, you will still have to wait. I don't know how to upload images to the site using an Ipad. Once I get to a wi- fi location and have my laptop with me then I will upload images.

Another grey overcast day but no rain so far. It is a little warmer today and it is possible the sun will show through the cloud.

I am on my own now to do writing and course planning. My good friend is busy painting Bonpo symbols on the wall of a restaurant under- going renovations. He is drawing and painting a number of different yungdrung motifs based on traditional forms found on the entrance doors for Tibetan homes. One of the symbols will be based on a well known form from a Bon Tsakali card.

So far I haven't made any plans for day trips outside of Chengdu. That will come later. The university is very accomodating in arranging for day trips providing both a good car and a driver. There is really no end to amazing places close to the city or three or four hours outside. It might even be time to be even more adventurous with the choice of outside locations.

My current location is the Starbucks coffee shop in the Jinli tourist area. Yes, sounds pedestrian but it is one of the nicer Starbucks and not often too crowded with a beautiful bamboo grove and patio out back. If it begins to rain there are three large pagoda style pavilions to take shelter. The only drawback is a large air conditioning unit nearby that occaisionally kicks in and removes the quiet garden setting for a short time until the unit shuts off.

Today is a day of writing and planning, although I have a friend flying in to Chengdu later today and that will probably involve socializing for a good portion of the evening.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.174s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.1015s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb