Celebrity Status


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Sichuan » Chengdu
February 4th 2012
Published: February 5th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Dorothy and I made the mistake of sitting down to rest after a long day of hiking around an ancient city. It was not an actual ancient city, mind you, but was rebuilt as a model of one after the large Sichuan earthquake of 2009 destroyed the earlier city. Anyhow, we sat down and people started taking pictures of us, video taping us, and taking pictures with us. I'd say at least fifty to sixty people walked straight up to us, as if we were two metal statues of foreigners and took pictures of us. We were laughing up a storm. I wish I could have collected all of the pictures they took, but by the end I decided something- if you take a picture of me, I will retaliate in kind. So I have quite a few pictures of people taking pictures of us just for the last few minutes of our sitting down.


Additional photos below
Photos: 67, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Feeling very ChineseFeeling very Chinese
Feeling very Chinese

They always do the peace sign in pictures... :)
Hyo and LibbyHyo and Libby
Hyo and Libby

They are both year long students, who mother hen us new ones :)
Charlie and JamesCharlie and James
Charlie and James

Charlie is going into the hotel business and is a semester student who is planning on staying here for a few years. James is my next door neighbor in the dorms and is considerate and does not play his music loud. :)
Bernadette, Ming, Chuck, Michael  Bernadette, Ming, Chuck, Michael
Bernadette, Ming, Chuck, Michael

All semester students. Ming has family here, Bernadette is from Maryland, Chuck is from Nevada, and Michael is from Virginia.
Kelee and HelenKelee and Helen
Kelee and Helen

Kelee is from Canada and is in the year long program. Helen is my program director's daughter.


5th February 2012

I love your blog and your pictures! I think it is hilarious how much you are getting photographed! I would love to read the captions that they much put on their pics - "Large foreign girls visiting our city" ?? Hearing about all these cool things you are doing and seeing does make me wonder.....are you going to college there or just having the time of your life? :) I guess that hopefully it is both! xo
9th February 2012

love you
i love you Taryn. i hope you are having still. i miss you so much i really want to talk to you after school but, yeah. i think that its so funny that you are now so famous now in China. i love you, Mer

Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0349s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb