Chengdu, "The City of Happiness."


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Sichuan » Chengdu
January 10th 2011
Published: January 10th 2011
Edit Blog Post

The first morning in Chengdu.The first morning in Chengdu.The first morning in Chengdu.

With the sounds of people singing...instruments playing...doves flying...the experience was overwhelming.
I finally made it to Chengdu yesterday!

And I only made it through Chengdu thanks to Jia, because she connected me with Bao Han (a friend of her's, studying in Sichuan University), who helped me take a taxi, find where I needed to go, and eat dinner.

So I got to experience living in the International Student Dorms for one night, which was okay. But I'm so glad I chose the apartments instead. I have two really nice roommates (Erin and Keely)...and apparently, the apartment complex was built in the 1990's for more wealthy people. The place is really nice, too! Okay, well...actually, my roommates are awesome, but I think my roommates only came here to party...and of course I came here to actually learn about Chinese culture, language...and life, so hopefuly, there won't be too many differences.

Anyway, Chengdu is quite different from Beijing and Haila'er--as expected. It's more in the middle of China, or a little Southwest, and sits on the border of Tibet and "Eastern" China. So, there are many Tibetan influences in Chengdu, such as Tibetan monks walking the street!

Chengdu's weather is also very cloudy, wet, cool, misty and, well, pleasant. Even
The first morning in Chengdu.The first morning in Chengdu.The first morning in Chengdu.

People doing Tai Chi...an amazing sight to wake up to!
at this time of year, everything is still green. There are plants and vines hanging everywhere from people's apartments, which gives Chengdu its own unique characterstic: the buildings may be worn and tattered, but they are still beautiful...at least for me.

I also noticed that Chengdu's lifestyle is quite dichotomous, when compared to Beijing's or Haila'er's (or maybe, northern China in general). Chengdu's people are very relaxed. I woke up this morning to the voice of a man singing in his native Sichuan dialect...the calls of pidgeons from a pidgeon coop on a nearby desheveled apartment complex...children playing in the street...men polishing shoes on a side walk...a group of people performing Tai Chi to the sound of a flute. It's very different from Beijing's pushy, fast-speaking people and Haila'er's traffic jams. No, here in Chengdu, people seem to take their time, to stop and enjoy life. Even though Chengdu is a large city, it doesn't seem all that crowded. Even in malls, no one grabs your arm and begs you to buy their item here, like they do in Beijing or Haila'er.

And the people are friendly. They actually smile at you--a sight you'd rarely see in Beijing.
The first morning in Chengdu.The first morning in Chengdu.The first morning in Chengdu.

The apartments are very old and shabby, but simply stunning (in my opinion).
The taxi drivers try to make friendly conversations, even if they don't understand any English. People in grocery stores may stare because I'm a foreigner, and they may have never seen a White person in their life, but...there's something about their facial features that tell me, they welcome me here.

Everyone sits around the curbs of streets and play instruments. Or play games in parks. Or do some form of Chinese exercise. Or sit around street food vendors and eat. Or sit around street food vendors and drink tea. This is the China I've always dreamed about, and want to know more of.

I am, by no means, negating my love for Beijing and Haila'er, though it may sound like I am. I'm just describing differences I'm finding between these regions, in hopes that I will better understand the many cultures of China, and Chinese culture as one. It just so happens that Chengdu's lifestyle is perhaps more to what I am used to, being from the United State's Midwest. Of course, I would like to find work in Beijing after I graduate, because I have so many great memories of that wonderful city! And I am thankful
Flight to Chengdu.Flight to Chengdu.Flight to Chengdu.

Notice the differences between northern and southwestern China's land. Northern China is so dry...
for it!

On a side note, I found out from my USAC advisor that Chengdu has a population of 11 million...and I am one of the 30 non-Chinese people here in this city. Wow...if people start taking pictures with me, like they did in Beijing, I'm going to start feeling like a celebrity!

Also, I had the chance to eat some Chengdu cuisine, such as spicy noodles and jiao-zi. Very tasty...I love Chengdu cuisine! I'm glad I signed up for the Sichuan cuisine cooking class. One of my Chinese friends told me that because the Sichuan province is so wet and misty, people eat spicy foods to make them sweat...to get warm. The peppers are also good for the skin. Which is why people have such beautiful skin here! People who've been to Chengdu weren't lying to me about that!

I'm so glad I have the opportunity to study here, out of all the places in the world. I know the best times of my life will be right here, in this city!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Flight to Chengdu.Flight to Chengdu.
Flight to Chengdu.

Southwestern China is so green and lush! There are rivers everywhere...
Flight to Chengdu.Flight to Chengdu.
Flight to Chengdu.

While I was flying from Beijing, I thought I saw the Great Wall. You'd have to ask me in person where I think it is. I know it might not be it...but I couldn't make it there, so I'll just say it was!


Tot: 0.13s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0549s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb