Chengdu, China (Sichuan Province)


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Sichuan » Chengdu
June 26th 2009
Published: August 5th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Through much research, I found an inexpensive series of flights that would take me to Chengdu (the capital of Sichuan province), Beijing, Kuala Lumpur (the capital of Malaysia) and finally back to Bangkok for a few days before heading home. I was nervous about booking flights and commiting to a particular itinerary considering traveling with little or no plan had served me well so far. It worked out really well and I wouldn't have changed a thing.


My first stop was Chengdu with five days to explore this city and some surrounding areas. Chengdu is only fifty miles from the epicenter of the massive 2008 Sichuan earthquake, but apparently the city itself was not hit as hard as one would think. I really enjoyed Chengdu and had a good time getting lost on the local bus system and working my way back to the hostel.


I guess they don't get as many foriegners here because more so than in Yunnan province I was stared at or asked to take pictures with strangers. Sometimes they would pretend to be taking photos of something or someone else, but making sure to get the foreigner in the shot. So stealth.


I met a Canadian guy who has been working in eastern medicine in Beijing for the last six years. We walked around the city for several hours one night while he told me great stories about Chinese people and culture.

The last night I was there a couple of Brazilian guys that work with my father took me out to a super nice dinner. It was a real change of pace and much appreciated.



Additional photos below
Photos: 31, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0403s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb