A Chinese cracker of a Christmas for Nicholas G. Boyce…


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Sichuan » Chengdu
January 19th 2009
Published: January 19th 2009
Edit Blog Post

It’s been a while and dial or three of rice cakes that I’ve written here, much has happened and could be written but only now does it feel right to conclude this last couple of months for all your spanned damn perusal.

Looking back I see I invited you all to my spam filled Birthday party, I was shocked and pleased with the fact that you all made it in swanky cardboard styles. The conversations were one way but I felt you all, the cardboard to chocolate sandwich biscuits was spot on too eh?! Since this de-rigueur party I’ve been teaching Chinese kids some kind of English for the past nigh on 2 months. Sometimes it was joyous when a spark of creativity dazzles in the gloomy air, mostly it was a little mundane when you have taught the 11th class the same lesson plan, and at times it was damn right abhorrent when yet again Junior 2 Class 4 are at their worst. This work full of surprise was very fulfilling.

Alas, the now sees it as ended, I could of stayed but a number of reasons brought about my choice to not go back next term. The main factor was the location, to me Yilong was good for a month and no longer - it gave my travel legs a rest but it didn’t have the things to keep me entertained. A long weekend couchsurfing in Chengdu made me realise just how much I crave the ‘buzz’. The ‘buzz’ is to be able to do, my un-anonymous nature in Yilong restricted me somewhat. My anonymounity in Chengdu led to dancing till I was dripping in sweat, huddling round lines of tea, much more that I’ve forgotten or won’t digress into, in all the ‘buzz’. This fix got me through the final month I think, that and the amazing Christmas I had in Yilong (see pics).

New Year’s I spent partying in Chengdu and since then I’ve been super busy putting together a bike within a bike grotto of a place with the help of Seadna the bike monster that dwells in said place. He is a bucket of that I’m sure. I got a bus to Kunming the other day and leaving in about an hour to head South from here on my semi-skimmed bike, skirting around the Vietnam border and then dropping down into Laos. Lost in Laos is my subject to explore here, so until I find myself or I’m found peace unto you all and remember…



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.259s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0554s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb