Huayan Temple


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanxi » Datong
November 13th 2010
Published: November 17th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I visited the temple in Datong on a cool brisk morning. I arrived just as the gates were opening - perfect timing. There was no-one else visiting the temple!
It was more than a temple, more like a collection of temples surrounded by a high wall. A couple of things surprised me - one that there was a budda with heavy black eyebrows and a thick black beard. He actually looked rather fierce even though he was in the budda pose.
Secondly, there was a temple to one of the Hindu gods just behind the main buddist temple. I can't remember which one - the hindu god with all the arms.
In addition, there was a christian church just behind the temple. If I recall correctly, the cross or steeple of a christian church is supposed to be the tallest structure in the neighborhood. In this case they didn't get their way - the buddist temple has the highest point.
I took lots of pictures of devils and gargoles, because I know that some of you love that kind of thing.
I went to KFC across the road for lunch. I know I should have been more adventurous, but I was still dealing with a rolling stomach.


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement



Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 13; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0314s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb