The Journey - A Conclusion


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai
August 20th 2006
Published: August 24th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Made it!Made it!Made it!

Made it!
Wow! Thats really all I can say. Wow! Wow! Wow! Wow! Wow!

I can't believe we made it. We have seen and done so much over the past 20 weeks. We have had some amazing experiences and some very trying ones. We have come through some excellent times and some difficult times. We have always been there for each other.

Some words about Adam (I know he won't bother reading this so I can say what I want). Its always a test travelling with someone else. During our time in Azerbaijan and Kazakhstan we spent about 2 months together, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week without seeing any other backpackers. We got through it. Adam has always been good company. He has helped me through the difficult periods of this trip, as I hope I have been there for him. I couldn't have asked for a better travelling companion.

Highlights:
# Berlin was a massive highlight, visiting a city where history is still being made by the day was a fascinating experience for me.
# The hot air balloon ride in Goreme was a real highlight. Despite my horse incident only a few days earlier I am so glad I got the opportunity to make the ride.
# Aralsk. After learning about the Aral Sea problems for geography A-Levels, seeing this man-made disaster zone and how the local population are trying to come to terms with it was a real eye-opener.
# Khongorin Els. Not just the unbelievable views from the top of Mongolia's highest sand dune but also the physical achievement in reaching the summit was truly exhilarating.

Here's the stats:
140 Days
14 Different Countries
18,000 Kilometres
78 Different Beds
3 Boats
16 Busses
25 Trains
11 Cars
9 Minibusses
3 Cable Cars
2 Horses
1 Camel
1 Hot Air Balloon
15 Irish Pubs

Finally, for everyone who's been reading my blog, for everyone who's left messages of support and encouragement, for all the people who believed in us and knew that we could achieve what we wanted to, for my parents who always do everything they can for me, for Becca for her unending love and support, for Adam who has been a top class travelling companion, for Adam's Mam Jacquie who gave us the push to believe ourselves that we could make it, and for all the amazing people we have met along the way..... THANK YOU.

Advertisement



24th August 2006

Congratulations!
Hi Joel, Congratulations on completing your world travels! Enjoy your time in Australia and I hope to see you in Michigan in December--can't wait! Talk to you soon! Love your cousin, Melissa
24th August 2006

Well done Joel!
We have followed your travels, trials and tribulations with great interest and much admiration. What a journey and what stories to tell for years to come! Thank you so much for sharing your experiences with us. We enjoyed it all - vicariously! Love, Pam and Werner
24th August 2006

You certainly did (do it!)
Joely Your blogs have been amazing - the talk of the town, and Dad and I are so proud that you persisted in doing this trip (even without a mobile!). You have learned a lot about the world and about yourself and this will stand you in good stead when you return home and start your life as a working adult. There is more to come, and although it will be a different kind of travelling, we hope that you enjoy Oz, NZ, Fiji and the USA. Dad and I and your grandparents look forward to seeing you again at the end of the year - G-d we miss you!!! Be safe, be well and have fun! Mam xxxxxx
24th August 2006

Wow, i can't believe its completed! i got a bit emotional reading the blog where you and Adam parted ways. I loved reading about your travels and am amazed to hear the stories you told with heart and humour (yeah, a bit sentimental, but hey!). Hope Australia has some future stories - glad to hear you did it all. Very proud of you both and it'll be great when you come back to Blighty one day. x x x x P.S Mozza was fantastic!!!!
25th August 2006

Great Going Guys!
Good for you Joel..... what an amazing journey you and Adam have been on these last 20+ weeks! Can't wait to see you when you come to Dayton Ohio and Michigan! Safe Travel Always! Claudia
26th August 2006

cheeky til the last
you cheeky sod! I did read it and yes, you have been an amazing travel buddy and the last 4 months have been the most enjoyable of my life. there are things we've seen that will never be forgotten and places we've been that will live long in the memory. The summit of Khongor Els will forever be a highlight in my life, and more so for having you there. An honour and a priviledge my friend.
22nd September 2006

good luck
Like loadsa others I hav followed your blog, which seemed to be not a few thousand miles away from us here in the toon but a million miles away. I'm sure that the experiences will help you accept and deal with the totally different challenges in the industry sector you have chosen for your career. HPN Tony G.
11th February 2010

enjoyed it!
I came upon this blog when I searched for 'Veliko Tarnovo stew'. My youngest son is currently there, mainly to eat more of the delicious stew he had there a few years ago. So I continued to read, along with a glass or two of wine, and found that you were in Turkey (I was there 36 yrs ago, when Ephesus was small, Pamukkale had no rules and Goreme had no town). Since you were heading for Azerbaijan I continued to read, as my oldest son has been working for in Baku 2.5 yrs. He has mentioned that there isn't much to see there.... But he has the satisfaction of helping to introduce e-commerce to AZ so he has been enjoying himself. It sounds like you didn't get to the oil baths, which has been a highlight for him. Read about it here if you want to see what you missed! http://kent.nomadlife.org/past/2009_08_01_archive.aspx Then you proceeded through Central Asia, where youngest son is also going. After that, your time in Mongolia was read with interest as the oldest son had been there for 3 months one winter....I believe it was 2005 (we are Canadians, so winter is well....just winter). It seems that even though your horse decided to take a nap with you on board, my son thought it was 'game-over' when it took off on him, full tilt, heading straight for a fence. I have really enjoyed the read, and particularly appreciate all the trouble you took to write your blog. Well done!!

Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 7; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0354s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb