Shanghai Ruminations


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai
November 28th 2007
Published: November 28th 2007
Edit Blog Post

A few thoughts, in no particular order:

- It's crazy to be completely dropped into a language and culture of which you have absolutely no prior knowledge. When we landed, all I knew how to say was thank you. Four days later, I'm not much better, but there are certain things that you begin to notice. Phrases, tones, certain characters, basic sentence structure - it all starts to make sense, and any semblance of progress is exciting when you start with nothing. I've always said that if I couldn't do engineering, I would try and get the hang of a couple languages other than Spanish. The feeling you get when you can order your meal, or get somewhere in a taxi, or ask how someone is doing, instead of looking blank-faced at your waiter or cab driver is pretty awesome.

- There are certain movies that are funny no matter what country you are in, and The Big Lebowski is one of them. "The Dude abides..."

- I got my first suit, a custom-made suit, made for pennies at the local fabric market, and it looks damn good. Now I just need excuses to wear it.

- The last place I ever thought I would be speaking Spanish was in downtown Shanghai, where we saw a Guatemalan fast-food chain (Pollo Campero) and ended up speaking to the Guatemalan store manager. I got a free Pollo Campero hat, and it is my new driving hat. Quien pueda creer?

- It is very strange to be done completely done with school in November, and I think I like it. Only three semesters left...

- How a Japanese steakhouse can offer an all you can eat/all you can drink for 148 kuai ($19), and still make money is beyond my comprehension. I do know, however, that never before have I eaten as much sushi, wasabi, sake, chicken, and bamboo meatloaf in my entire life, nor has it been so delicious. This restaurant was part of the ridiculous ensemble that was Samuel Wrzeszcz's 21st birthday, and it was out of control. I think my favorite part was Sam treating the entire restaurant to a slurred rendition of "Edelweiss", which was immediately followed by Sam imparting some of the most important advice I have ever received: "Learn to sacrifice, and America will live forever." The irony was particularly thick, being in a communist-city stronghold and all...

- If a girl from Singapore claims that the origin of her weak-sauce British accent is a "mystery", she's lying through her teeth and should be called out accordingly.

- It really sucks being targeted for change by people on the street simply because you're white. I mean, it makes complete since, since statistically the lao-wai (foreigners) are more likely to have money to give and more likely to give it, but at what point do you say no? At one point, we were on a ferry with many other Chinese workers crossing the Huangpu River, and Sam, Raf, and I were smoking cigars that probably cost more money than they make in a day. We were going to one of the nicest bars in Shanghai, but it didn't feel remotely extravagant to us because of the exchange rate. We were so ready to spend money on things that interested and entertained us, but how are we supposed to feel when we walk out of a restaurant and there are people asking for a few kuai (~43 cents), which is enough for a square meal. And if I do give someone money, to what extent do I continue? Anyone that knows me knows that I'm no bleeding heart, but it's something worth thinking about.

- Some of my favorite times here in Shanghai have been when we (Tyler, Sam, Anne, Raf, Dan, and me) are all sitting in Tyler's awesome apartment, eating some crazy street food, turning on some Christmas music, and telling stories about our past semester. That being said, there's also something to be said about following some sketchy guy on the street through a maze of back alleys to a storehouse full of knock-off watches, purses, name-brand clothes, and iPods (yeah knock off iPods, this country is absurd). Or having some random guy smack me on the arm, nodding in a direction, and say, "Blowjob?"....Huh?

Thanks for everyone's emails, it's been good to hear from all of you. I hope everyone is getting excited about Christmas, cause I am.

-Kevin


Advertisement



28th November 2007

Where's that Japanese steakhouse
Hi Kevin, I'll be in Shanghai in Jan. Any chance you can tell me where that Japanese steakhouse is? Brendan, Ireland. (http://whilestockslast.blogspot.com)
2nd December 2007

ahhhhhhhhhh the blowjob thing is too funny. but you didn't really stipulate what you reply was to the 'nod'. hmmmmmmmmmm suss kevvie....
2nd December 2007

Response to Brendan from Ireland
Hey Brendan, if you want to go to that awesome Japanese restaurant, go to smartshanghai.com and search for the following: Shirukiya Japanese Restaurant Donghu Lu (Near Huaihai Zhong Lu) I would've gone to your blogspot and sent you the info, but blogspot is blocked here in China. Happy trails

Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0396s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb