Keep on rockin' and wobblin'


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai
October 15th 2007
Published: October 18th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Shanghai harbourShanghai harbourShanghai harbour

The Pearl of Shanghai and the financial district
I took the overnight train from Beijing to Shanghai, hoping that my swollen foot would somehow be fine and dandy by the time I reached Shanghai. I bumped into George at the train station, turns out he was going on the same train and staying at the same hostel as me. It made me feel better, as I felt more safe knowing he was around. We were in different compartments though, both of us in the soft sleepers, but I had the lower bunk because of my foot. The train ride went smoothly as I tried to converse with my fellow Chinese room mates, all going to Shanghai for different reasons. They were very friendly and concerned about my foot, and tried as much as they could to help me with their broken English and advise me to go to the hospital.

At first I didn't, but as my foot got worse I got more worried, and I decided to call around to the hospitals to see how much it costs. I called the hospitals listed in Lonely Planet, but they were all international, private clinics, which cost a ruthless amount. Eventually I found a semi cheap one and decided to book an appointment. It only came out to about 20 pounds, or 340 kronor, incl the x- ray, which I thought was worth it just to make sure nothing was wrong. Fortunately I had no fractures or breaks, but he told me I had a severe sprain and that I had stretched my ligament so I should rest for about 2 weeks. The hospital visit itself was quite funny, although at the time I was very stressed out and broke down crying. It's never fun to be travelling alone when an accident happens, it makes you feel extremely vulnerable and depressed. But back to the hospital visit. I arrived at the hospital and a nurse showed me around to the international ward, which was very posh. This is probably the place where rich people and foreigners go, as it costs too much for the locals. When I passed through the Chinese part of the hospital people were staring at me like I was an alien. There were old and sick people on gurneys and in the hallways, and the nurse at the A&E was casually distributing drips and shots in a not too sterile environment. I wanted to take pictures to show what it all looked like, but out of respect for the people there I didn't. So I was seen by Doctor Joe, probably his Anglofied name for stupid foreigners that don't speak Chinese. He poked my foot and ooh and aah'd and told me I needed an x- ray. I was put in a wheelchair, although I insisted I could walk. They pushed me down in the chair, and a Chinese man rolled me all the way to the x- ray ward in the Chinese part of the hospital. On the way he mowed down a few sick and unwell Chinese people just to make way for my wheelchair. I felt embarrassed and ashamed and the people probably thought "here comes the westerner with money, she can pay for good healthcare!". But what could I do? At the end of it, I'm happy all is well, and a little bit of rest won't hurt. After all, I have a very long time to spend in China, so there is no need to rush things. I did manage to do touristy things though, and I must admit George has been quite patient in my slow wobbling, bless him!

Next stop Xian!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.05s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb