49 hours of not-so-much-fun


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai
June 3rd 2007
Published: June 3rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

China1China1China1

Our ferry over to China!
It is hard for me to remember but I beleive we left South Korea on Thursday by ferry. We arrived by train in Shanghai on Saturday. It was the worst two days and an hour of my (and probably Randys') lives. I don't know where to begin; maybe because I am not too sure when then misery began. Was it back in Korea? Or maybe it was somewhere in the Chinese Northern Sea? I don't know. But I do know that it was horrible, and after I put up the pictures you will have a better understanding (though no words or pictures could ever grasp the hell that was inflicted apon our brave persons).
Today I am writing from a internet cafe of the kind where their are about 100-150 computers crammed into maybe 100 square feet. The Chinese have been quite nice so far and I have no complaints. The food we have ate has been good; I might even go so far as to say, very good.
The Top Ramon type food we had on our 20 hour train ride was great. Not only does it come with a fork to eat it, but also dried
China2China2China2

If you think this picture looks packed; try and to imagine all of these people cramed into a tiny train compartment. That is what awaited us in a few minutes after this picture was taken.
vegtables, seasoning, napin, place mat, ice cream, small piece of cake, and a massage... I am being sarcastic. No it is good, but that train ride will always make me think mean and hateful thoughts. The majority of the time we were sitting in a hard seat face-to-face with all sorts of different people. University students, farmers, families. Everything. We think the train was the slowest train in all the world. Stopping at every train station throughout western China before arriving in Shanghai. Correct me if I'm wrong, but according to my map, Shanghai is about 1000 km away from Qingdao in the North. It took us 20 hours!!!!! The university student explained that the train must go to the center before in goes to it's intended destination. So we went all the way West to the center of China before heading South, then back East to the coast. It was horrible. And since the train maybe hit max speed around 30-40 mphs, we had to pull over constantly so faster trains could pass us.
Anyway I must go now, but we are in Shanghai, not sure when, but are trying to go to Hong Kong next. We are
China3China3China3

Randy getting some beauty sleep on our 20 hour train to Shanghai
alive and have not become sick from the water are anyother means; yet... I will update this with pictures another time.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Shanghai1Shanghai1
Shanghai1

"Would you fancy some tea or coffe good sir?" A little reward after our bad train ride.


Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0465s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb