TO SHANGHAI AND TWO DAYS AT SEA


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai » Pudong
March 21st 2013
Published: March 21st 2013
Edit Blog Post

SHANGHAISHANGHAISHANGHAI

FROM MY STATEROOM
CHAPTER ONE - It finally happened, I was overdue. I have traveled extensively the past 15 months with no health problems, but this morning I awoke not feeling well. I know it wasn’t mal de mere because the sea was smooth; I was extremely tired and had no appetite. I ventured to the buffet so that the stewards could get in, but I didn’t feel like trying anything. I went back to my room and went to bed. Later I decided I didn’t have the desire to get dressed for the formal evening and I cancelled my reservation for the Pinnacle Grill. I felt slightly better and tried the “late night snack” buffet and had a small piece of quiche and a fruit salad. Back to bed, tomorrow’s another day. I’m blessed that this was a sea day. I don’t want to miss any ports.

CHAPTER TWO - Another sea day, thankfully. I awoke feeling better and actually went to the buffet to try to get back on track. I had a light breakfast and then went to a couple of digital workshops on picture and movie editing. Light lunch followed then back to my room for a nap. I
SHANGHAISHANGHAISHANGHAI

FROM THE VOLENDAM
had a light supper before heading to the bars for a couple of drinks (diet cokes). The seas had turned to “very high” with gale force winds. I wasn’t having difficulty with the conditions, but apparently many people were because attendance at all the dining venues was low. The Ocean Bar bartender told me that this section of the sea is notorious for rough situations and that his previous trip through this section resulted in the captain ordering passengers back to their staterooms because of difficulty walking. The entertainment in the Ocean Bar is a good jazz trio, the rest of the bar entertainment is not worth staying up late for. After a couple of hours we entered the Yangtze River and things calmed down. I attended the show in the Frans Hals Lounge showroom with comedian/magician Scotty McLean. I enjoyed his show and remember one of his lines, “ I joined Alcoholics’ Anonymous; I still drink but I use an assumed name” We went up the Yangtze at night so I didn’t get to see much from the Crow’s Nest except the occasional lights on shore and on passing ships.

CHAPTER THREE - I woke up this morning to a beautiful sky and a fantastic view. Our berth was right in the heart of town, on the Huangpu River within walking distance to many of the most dramatic areas. It felt good to be able to respond to people asking “how are you?” I feel good, thanks. After a normal breakfast I awaited the call for my full day tour to begin. It was sunny but cold, temperature around 48 F. Sweater and jacket for me. I had to clear immigration first. China, Korea and Japan all have slightly different procedures. I had to carry passport and a photocopy of it to have face to passport verification by a Chinese immigration official. It only took me about five minutes, but I was starting to get a little nervous as he went back and forth between my visa and my passport. China is my only visit that requires a in advance.

My tour guide was a young man with excellent English. I was the only American on the bus, but all 28 people spoke English, most as a second language. Shanghai is a big (more than 20,000,000 people city and growing very quickly. A couple on
PALM TREEPALM TREEPALM TREE

IN SHANGHAI
the bus had visited in 1984 and couldn’t recognize the place. Huge skyscrapers and modern buildings juxtaposed with old town. Bruce (the tour guide) indicated that young men are having a difficult time finding brides. The key to finding a good bride is the 5 C’s: Certificate (as in college degree - the higher the better - Ph.D. is great), Career (employment in a good company with upward mobility), Condominium ( have a good place to live), Car (preferably a well regarded car like a BMW), and the final C, Cash. With those, you can get a good wife he says.

First stop, the Shanghai Museum. It is a world famous museum of ancient Chinese art with over a million pieces in her collection. Bronzes, ceramics, calligraphy, paintings, jade and ivory works, artifacts of ethnic minorities and much more. I was surprised by the number of ethnic minorities in China (also by the fact that this big country has only one time zone). It’ housed in a modern four story building that you could spend days in and I only had an hour and a half. If you want to see what you missed, go to

www.shanghaimuseum.net .




Second stop, the Jade Buddha Temple, a working temple is famous for its pair of white jade Buddhas (one recumbent and one sitting). Magnificent art works as well. I saw several monks walking the grounds and scores of Buddhists praying. Gift shops, of course, are plentiful and I was invited to rub one Buddha’s head (to improve thinking) and rub his big belly (for happiness). I thought that by rubbing both I could think I’m happy? Big crowds and we had to be attentive following our tour guide or we could easily get lost




Third stop, lunch at a restaurant called The Sea Gull, because it’s roof line looks like a sea gull in flight. It was a huge place serving many hundreds of people and I expected fair food quality at best, but it was very good, better than some of the ship offerings. We were at a table for ten and the food was placed on a large lazy Susan for self serving. We had marinated vegetable appetizers, egg drop soup, BBQ duck, chicken wings, spring rolls, sautéed beet greens (I think), fried chicken, fish, rice and finished with
RECLINING BUDDHARECLINING BUDDHARECLINING BUDDHA

JADE BUDDHA TEMPLE
an orange slice.




Stop four - Visit to the Yuyuan Garden built in 1559 in the Ming Dynasty style and a visit to the nearby market area and a silk museum and sales area.




Glad we’re here overnight but I’m too tired to go back out. Tomorrow’s another day.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

YUYUAN GARDENYUYUAN GARDEN
YUYUAN GARDEN

FORMED BUSH


Tot: 0.294s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0759s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb