Hangover Blues


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai » Jing'an
June 30th 2012
Published: July 13th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Day 1

My Mom called me this morning just to wake me up. Thank gods she did, otherwise I would have missed my train and slept through everything! I guess she knows me too well, or just remembers how I missed that one flight, all too well...

I still don't remember what time I got in yesterday; how I got into bed is also a mistery. And the hangover... don't even get me started... I'm thinking, maybe I should undergo an electro-shock treatment that will once and for all stop me from mixing vodka, wine, beer and so on, you know? It would teach me to grab only one sort of drink all night and zap me everytime I'd try to go for the oh-so-tasty Long Island Icetea. Or I don't know... Make me prefer water instead! Gah...

Anyway, I still had quite a few things left to do, and knowing myself, my lazy lazy self, I was really impressed that I just drank some water and got on with it. I suppose it must have been the build-up of excitement over the past few weeks that instantly defeated 'my lazy'. Thanks to Mom, I was up at 0900h with lots of time on my hands before I hopped on the train. I went to re-register at the police station with my spankin' new student visa and bought some munchies for the 20 hour train ride.

After my not-so-exhausting-if-it-weren't-for-the-hangover errands, I double-checked my luggage to make sure it contained everything from my list. It would have been a bummer to forget anything for my two month journey after all those painstaking preparations! Then I just laid down and enjoyed my super green, air-conditioned room before setting out to the train station. I thought of how great the past year in Shanghai has turned out, and how much I'd miss everyone while being away. I still had some concerns shadowing me, but I dismissed them quite quickly. There was no point dwelling on anything negative now, it was time to concentrate on what I'd like to see and do in the near future, time to turn all those dreams into reality.

With those positive thoughts I hopped on the subway and headed for the train station. As soon as I reached my top berth, I snuggled up to Aerosmith and fell asleep.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.045s; Tpl: 0.007s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0213s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb