When in Rome... eat Chinese food?


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai » Huangpu
December 18th 2012
Published: December 18th 2012
Edit Blog Post

So, I’ve been told a few times that it’s not too early to update again… so I’m updating again!



The days continue to be packed with new information and all kinds of adventures. The group that I sight-saw with on Saturday has become something of my nuclear group of friends here at DE. We are far from perfect for each other as friends, but we are sharing these experiences and bring a lot of unique perspectives to the table. Since Saturday, the 4+ of us have spent time together literally every free moment. I say 4+ because there is this central group of 4 that then has a rotating 5th person. Our 5th has really turned into Chris from Ireland, so in fairness to him… it’s become 5+. We 5 have a fantastic habit of getting ourselves lost. There’s something about doing so in a group that makes it laughable, rather than ridiculously frightening.



Navigating Shanghai as “Westerners” is really rather laughable in and of itself. For one, there is the obvious language barrier. Disney has this wonderful way of insisting that we NOT become too comfortable with the language in order to be more successful at our jobs. Well, Disney – we are super duper at speaking English… but NOT at ordering dim sum. Ordering food in any setting here is quite the adventure. It typically includes a lot of “Xie xie” (pronounced in some variance of “Shay” or “shyeh” not “shee” as my Texan accomplice Dave insists…) “Duei” and “oh, bu.. bu…” The three words that we know as a collective group: “thank you” “yes” and “no.” Oh, and of course Michelle’s frequent additives of “NEE-YAAOOOWW! NEE-YAAOOWW!” – Ni Hao being “Hello”… super helpful when ordering food, thanks Michelle!) So, in the end there’s a lot of nodding, half-smiling and wild pointing and gesticulating. Chris and I, today, made the mistake of trying to ask whether an additional menu with the Disney characters on it was a children’s menu. That went well. I promise you. I certainly hope the poor waitress does not really think that we eat children where we come from.



I’ve found that those who have been successful at Disney English tend to have very similar backgrounds to my own. This is hugely encouraging, but also a little unsettling. Let me explain:



Yesterday was our opening day of training. This training consisted of all of your typical training lectures: business ethics, harassment, dress codes, and so on. Included in all of this was a lengthy “welcome to the Disney family” presentation, as well as a class demonstration. By the end of these two presentations, I was completely sold. At the demo, Michelle and I were joking that we were ready to sign our children up, just name the price!!! …oh wait… But the Disney education model deeply reflects the kind of teaching about which I am hugely passionate… and I am absolutely thrilled to be taking part of their early development, let alone in their program. That being said, I do have every intention of going home. I’m not so steady about the idea of any permanency here in China. So, I’m beginning to wonder what the possibility of coupling the two - home and DE - would be like.



For now, I’m just living in the moment and celebrating the small victories: mastering the subway system; ordering a meal and having what I THOUGHT I ordered come to the table; turning on the teapot… making tea that looks like tea; taking money out of the bank; putting money in the bank… and in the end, it all comes out a little like being a child again. Growing up is frustrating. But that frustration just makes the victories all the sweeter.

Advertisement



19th December 2012

Very interesting and we are proud of you and you write so well!ots of love
22nd January 2013

interesting idea
food is very important.And Chinese food is just fabulous. In recent years, the food market in China is a bit confusing, the endless variety of scandals.For the next generation of food can not guarantee the quality and safety, then it can not expect more. Thank you very much for sharing that I can use in my research the idea.

Tot: 0.157s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0787s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb