Dragons and Lanterns and... well, I'm not really sure what that is... Oh My!


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai » Huangpu
February 6th 2012
Published: February 9th 2012
Edit Blog Post

The last day of the Spring Festival is marked by the Lantern Festival (gotta love a country that has a festival within a festival). In Shanghai, the Lantern Festival epicentre is Yu Garden (a wonderful tourist trap that is a must see while in Shanghai), where, thanks to their wonderful sponsor Pepsi, massive lantern sculptures are on display across the garden and surrounding buildings.



A couple of friends and I decided to shell out our ¥80 ($13 - go big or go home), and join the crushing crowds to see the sculptures. I have to say, it was pretty cool. Each sculpture showed a different Chinese story (my friend Mingming identified a few, but my brain was in photo-mode so nothing was retained), they were very intricate and thanks to modern technology had moving parts, lasers, and one dragon even smoked. In contrast with the historical (and built to look historical) buildings, it was quite striking.



I think the best part about the evening was being at a family function in China. The look on the children's faces as they looked at the sculptures was priceless, and their excitement was contagious. There was one little boy sitting on a turtle/dragon/unknown hybrid sculpture that had such an unabashed look of wonder on his face, I couldn't get over it. Ridiculously cute. It made my night.



So all in all: Expensive? Yes. Worth it? Absolutely.


Additional photos below
Photos: 23, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Lantern Festival - The Full PanoramaLantern Festival - The Full Panorama
Lantern Festival - The Full Panorama

The non 4:1 panorama I would have liked to have loaded...
Looking at the lanternsLooking at the lanterns
Looking at the lanterns

This little girl was on her Dad's shoulders and had this expression on her face the entire walk through Yu Garden. I think it may be permanent...
Lantern Festival 4Lantern Festival 4
Lantern Festival 4

My Mum has requested more photos of me - this one's for you Mum!
The Crush of the CrowdsThe Crush of the Crowds
The Crush of the Crowds

This is a shot to show just how busy Yu Garden was - in classic Chinese fashion, you had to push and shove to get a view of the sculptures. I'm getting very good at it these days.
Lantern Festival Dragon... Roar!Lantern Festival Dragon... Roar!
Lantern Festival Dragon... Roar!

This dragon was massive and blew smoke. I tried to catch a shot of it, but none turned out right.
Product Placement!Product Placement!
Product Placement!

Pepsi was anything but subtle in its product placement...
Lantern Festival 16Lantern Festival 16
Lantern Festival 16

I touched his pot and that means I will be rich in the future... screw finishing the last 2 weeks of my MBA!
Unknown creature lovin'Unknown creature lovin'
Unknown creature lovin'

What can I say? I'm a sucker for unidentified mythical creatures.


13th February 2012

That is quite something!
Ammazing sights throughout all these entries!
22nd February 2012

See I commented!
Seems like an amazing adventure your on!

Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0324s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb