7 days in shanghai..


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai » Hongkou
May 11th 2011
Published: May 11th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I arrived in Shanghai this morning for work purpose, and was supposed to go to a hotel my old friend had suggested. However, as I arrived here people at the airport's travel desk (as I understood it to be) suggested the hotel I had booking with was not so good.

I tried for another place at the airport itself but difference in prices at different counters was a little too much (around 100 RMB).. so it was me and my brother, he also discussed with someone and in the end we just picked our bags, hired a cab and started to hit the downtown.. 'All this at around 12 noon, when we had an exhibition to attend that would shut by 1700 hours'.. Anyhow, we reached "somewhere" in the downtown of Shanghai - the taxi driver didn't understand the name of hotel correct and brought us to some new place.. well after a little justle we reached our intended spot and made a walk-in reservation at a good price (as we thought it to be)..

Now, it was almost 1400 hours and we didn't see much point to got to the Expo center as exhibitors would be about to wrap by the time we would have arrived there.. so we decided to freshen up and leave for city centre (supposedly Nanjig road). Soon as we got ready to leave, we thought to purchase a local SIM card and that took us around 1.5 hours .. a trip to one Phone shop then to China Mobile showroom (without passport), then again to China Mobile showroom - this time with our passports.. and finally we got a number.

then it was time for some chilling.. we headed towards Nanjing Road, window shopping on the way.. suddenly people started approaching us for some fake branded goods and "massage et al. ;-))" soon enough we were flocked by a group of people who desparately wanted us to visit their stores just to have a look at what they had got.. this highly motivated girl tagged along with me and somehow thought I might be interested in some naughty stuff too..

Ooooh! It took a little more than requried time to convince her and let me off from there.. but was a good experience..

Had dinner at Pizza Hut - the only vegiie stuff I could find in there.. and headed to our hotel for a sound sleep..

rest to be continued tomorrow.. (hopefully I won't loose motivation this time). keep tuned in..


cheers!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 54; dbt: 0.042s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb