The 12 Days of Christmas in China


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shaanxi » Xi'an
December 22nd 2013
Published: December 22nd 2013
Edit Blog Post

Merry Christmas!!!!! I love Christmas so much! We hope you are all having a wonderful Christmas season! Things over here are going great! We had our branch Christmas party this week and ate at the delicious buffet where we had Thanksgiving. The best part was that they had a chocolate fountain!!! We were in heaven! We also had a Christmas party this week with all the exchange students. The mutual language is Chinese so we played Chinese charades and played the human knot game. Every “country” made a dish and brought it to the party. There was sushi, spaghetti with mozzarella, a delicious Korean dish that I don’t know what it’s called, chips and salsa, and more. We had a great time. At both parties Jarek and I sang Michael Buble’s version of White Christmas. It was a crowed pleaser for sure! I love my husband so much and I love that we get to sing together! Today we had a special Christmas sacrament meeting for church that was mostly all music. Jarek and I sang in the branch choir as well as in a quartet with another couple. It sounded so beautiful. At the end of the meeting, I sang "My Precious Son." That is a song my dad and a family friend wrote, so it is very special to me. I am so proud that I can take that song with me all over the world. Thanks dad 😊

The special thing we did for the branch Christmas party was we rewrote the words to The 12 Days of Christmas. We had way too much fun writing it and just as much fun singing it. I wish so badly that I could post it on here, but we have no way to do that. LIn the meantime, you will just have to imagine us singing it. *Ahem*:



12 Days of Christmas (in China)



On the first day of Christmas dear China gave to me,

Air you can see and not breathe





On the second day of Christmas dear China gave to me,

Two rock hard beds

And air you can see and not breathe



On the third day of Christmas dear China gave to me,

Three baby butts

Two rock hard beds

And air you can see and not breathe



On the fourth day of Christmas dear China gave to me,

Four panda suits

Three baby butts

Two rock hard beds

And air you can see and not breathe



On the fifth day of Christmas a student said to me,

MY NAME IS AIR (optional fifth verse: DIARRHEA!)

Four panda suits

Three baby butts

Two rock hard beds

And air you can see and not breathe





On the sixth day of Christmas dear China gave to me,

Six singing trucks

PLEASE CALL ME DOLPHIN

Four panda suits

Three baby butts

Two rock hard beds

And air you can see and not breathe





On the seventh day of Christmas dear China gave to me,

Seven cars a-honking

Six singing trucks

MY NAME IS EARTH

Four panda suits

Three baby butts

Two rock hard beds

And air you can see and not breathe



On the eighth day of Christmas dear China gave to me,

*HHHHHKKKKKK* (this is the sound a Chinese person makes before spitting.)

Seven cars a-honking

Six singing trucks

APPLE IS MY NAME

Four panda suits

Three baby butts

Two rock hard beds

And air you can see and not breathe





On the ninth day of Christmas dear China gave to me,

Nine ladies dancing

*HHHHHKKKKKK*

Seven cars a-honking

Six singing trucks

I CAN’T SAY MY NAME

Four panda suits

Three baby butts

Two rock hard beds

And air you can see and not breathe





On the tenth day of Christmas dear China gave to me,

Ten hours to download

Nine ladies dancing

*HHHHHKKKKKK*

Seven cars a-honking

Six singing trucks

CALL ME T-REX

Four panda suits

Three baby butts

Two rock hard beds

And air you can see and not breathe



On the eleventh day of Christmas dear China gave to me,

Eleven squatty potties

Ten hours to download

Nine ladies dancing

*HHHHHKKKKKK*

Seven cars a-honking

Six singing trucks

HIS NAME’S BAD BOY…? (Seriously?)

Four panda suits

Three baby butts

Two rock hard beds

And air you can see and not breathe



On the Twelfth day of Christmas dear China gave to me,

A billion people staring

Eleven squatty potties

Ten hours to download

Nine ladies dancing

*HHHHHKKKKKK*

Seven cars a-honking

Six singing trucks

PLEASE CHANGE YOUR NAME!!!!

Four panda suits

Three baby butts

Two rock hard beds

And air you can see and not breathe



*Relevance to real situations and/or people is not coincidental. All persons mentioned above are real.



Merry Christmas from the Buss family!

Advertisement



23rd December 2013

Great post, guys! We are running a Christmas photo challenge at the moment by which we hope to gather photos and descriptions of Christmas traditions from all around the world. If you'd like to participate, write a couple of sentences about Christmas in your countries or in China, send us a photo to represent it and we will publish the best entries on our blog with a link to your site. Sounds good? :) Here you will find more details: http://hitchhikershandbook.com/2013/12/21/christmas-traditions-around-the-world-photo-challenge/ Merry Christmas and a happy New Year! :)
24th December 2013

Love it!
Your 12 days of Christmas is too funny, but I'm not sure I understand "the baby butts"?????? You two have so much in common it amazes me! You'd almost think the Lord had a hand in getting you together! (Tee hee! Of course He did! No question here!) I'll send you and email a little later.......just had to comment on your song!
26th December 2013

Love it
Amazing new words to the song. Definitely had the same observations about China.

Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 27; dbt: 0.043s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb