Earache


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shaanxi » Xi'an
June 24th 2007
Published: June 24th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Just back from another marathon KTV session with the med students. For all their concern about face, and the losing therefore (ie, being embarassed in front of others), and the insistence that they are shy, quiet people, they can't half belt out a tune. In class, I never get volunteers for anything to do with speaking, they refuse to stand up, preferring to speak from their seats. Understandable. But when it comes to karaoke, everything goes out the window. Someone chose a dance tune, proper electro-sino-pop, with about six words in it, then got up and danced along with the video, as well as the singing thing. And they refuse to acknowledge that 'Country Road, Take Me Home' is not actually popular in the west, as they see it as the embodiment (em-tune-iment?) of all that is good and great in this world. At 2.30 in the afternoon, it's a bit much to take. Trying to chug as many alcopops as possible whilst shuffling seats so they wouldn't realise I hadn't sung yet - not a great Sunday afternoon. I begged tiredness from the rotten celery tasting herbs I'm swigging twice a day, and we legged it.

Thinking about it, KTV seems to be a bit of a show-off event, not in musical ability, but education. A lot of songs are subbed with the traditional characters (as opposed to the simplified characters that are generally used), and there are a lot of random words inserted. Being able to read these quickly enough to sing along is a sign of unbelievable intelligence. The med students know a lot more than the average 6-8,000 characters, probably about 25,000, with the medical terms, and the ancient Chinese classes they've taken, and they don't have the same need to prove themselves. They just enjoy hamming it up. But among others, I wonder.

It takes about 3,000 characters to read 96%!o(MISSING)f a newspaper.

I'm at about 400 characters. Go me! I'm a teacher, yet illiterate.

Advertisement



25th June 2007

Singing
What is the matter with 'Take me home country road'? Its the only song I know the words to and I would sing it no trouble - look out next year - I expect to be taken to said bar to join in the festivities. Hope you are feeling better Erin. XXX
26th June 2007

Singing
Erin I bet that they did better than I could as your Mother will tell you I cant sing a note. Take care see you soon
27th June 2007

you could try ...
something by the Kaiser Chiefs next time (W's favourite band) !!
28th June 2007

this is a very interesting blog to read. It seems like you are having a wonderful adventure in China.
14th July 2007

All very interesting, but what about the 5 star hotels - have you given them up.

Tot: 0.301s; Tpl: 0.029s; cc: 15; qc: 35; dbt: 0.2329s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb