Baoshan TV Tower


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Liaoning » Dandong
July 15th 2010
Published: July 25th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Today was a good time, I finally got to meet boss man and was he ever nice! We basically just chilled in his office for tea for like 45 minutes and talked about the city and how I liked my place. He flat out told me that I can have anything I ask for, but I will be sure not to ask for much out of respect. My office was also moved to the 14th floor from the 16th to be right next to Mr. Huang, Dir. Ai, and the secretaries. A good change given that the A/C is usually on down here and I have walls around my workstation for a little more privacy than just being in the middle of a big room. Mr. Huang had me taken home by his driver today that he said I may use freely. It's a sexy black Audi with TV screens in the back of the headrests and enough leg room to completely lay down and stretch out in the back seat. I'm not superficial but this could be quite comfortable for the next 2 months.

Tonight I went to hang out with Sean at Baoshan in Yuanbao District and it was quite a sight. There were tons of people dancing and singing and enjoying life. One of the things I really love about China is how everyone still congregates in public squares at night and has a blast the good old fashioned way. There were so many grandmas and grandpas waltzing and singing, that I could have almost burst into tears of joy on the spot. I really hope that I will be that happy and spry when I'm their age. They looked like they were having the time of their lives. It was basically perfect. Sean and I walked up the mountain to the top and saw the TV tower and it was amazing when lit up at night.

Today was a good day. I am really getting used to this city and I really look forward to the rest of my time here.


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

My tower's not finished so it can be creepy at night.My tower's not finished so it can be creepy at night.
My tower's not finished so it can be creepy at night.

I live in the right tower, 18th floor of 31.
Old Andong PavilionOld Andong Pavilion
Old Andong Pavilion

The new one is in the complex I live in.
No. 2 WharfNo. 2 Wharf
No. 2 Wharf

I can see this from my office too.
Here's George Jetson, or Pizza Planet?Here's George Jetson, or Pizza Planet?
Here's George Jetson, or Pizza Planet?

The gas station outside my apartment looks either futuristic or from the 1960s.
Moon Island shrouded in mistMoon Island shrouded in mist
Moon Island shrouded in mist

as seen from my house
This is a plus.This is a plus.
This is a plus.

I basically only watch Hong Kong's Channel V and Macau's Lotus because they're less commie.


Tot: 0.124s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0916s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb