Recognizing the Symptoms of Culture Shock: A Field Manual


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Liaoning » Dalian » Dalian
August 31st 2009
Published: August 31st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Life here continues to be action-packed. My boss Freddy has the energy of a pre-schooler, which might explain why he works in a school; he is constantly bouncing around, talking at 300 miles an hour, calling every 15 minutes to see if I need anything, do I want to get breakfast, how is my A.C working, will I be in school tomorrow, am I still alive and able to teach for him. Consequently, my work environment is rather fast-paced. Although I don't start working officially until Thursday (or getting paid officially, for that matter), I did full days both Saturday and Sunday this week. The weekends are our busiest time; when the kids don't have regular school or music lessons or art lessons or sports lessons or computer lessons, their parents send them to English lessons. One of our teachers, Amy, called in sick with food poisoning on Saturday, leaving my boss Freddy and I to take over her classes on the fly. I suspect that Amy wasn't poisoned so much by the food as by the culture. Amy is in her 30s, a Baptist from Southern California, and has been living here for three months, which judging by my conversations with her is three months too long for Amy. China can be a lot to adjust to for Westerners; the culture here is so exhaustively different, in almost every way imaginable. Perhaps the only similarity between Chinese and Americans is that we both think our way of doing things is the only right one. Understandably, this can be frustrating for most expats here. Amy doesn't speak any Chinese, which further antagonizes the situation. She says it's too much work for her to try and learn, that she can get by without it. This is a pretty common attitude for foreigners here; last night at a Western expat bar I met an older man (who used to live in Ithaca, but that's another story) who has been teaching here for 7 years and doesn't even know the tones. I don't understand how someone can choose to live in a maddeningly different country and not try to assimilate at least a little bit. But then again, maybe for these people there aren't jobs anywhere else. I get the feeling that Amy finds my excitement a little annoying, and perhaps naive. I guess I have to admit that I will probably feel homesick for the States at some point, but I just can't see that happening now. Whatever happens, I hope that I won't end up as disgruntled and displaced as some of these foreigners.

In any case, I have been teaching quite a bit. The days are long and hard, because our school tries to keep the kids entertained as much as informed. My job is comedian as much as teacher. But I think I am good at it so far; the kids laugh at me, at least. My fear of little children has been pretty much wiped clean; the trick, it seems, is to just act like a little child, and I am surprisingly (at least for me, maybe not for those who know me) good at that. I actually find the job fun. But I get the impression from all the more seasoned teachers that this enjoyment will wear off, much like my appreciation for the change in surroundings. I don't want to be jaded and exhausted, but if I can tell anything from my coworkers, this is my fate. I feel like a child again, like being a freshman in high school, obnoxiously eager and ignorant of what I've gotten myself into. But I suppose rather than waiting for the inevitable, I should cherish this feeling while I can.

Advertisement



31st August 2009

Learn Chinese: Pot Sticker - Guo-tie
Ah, Cherish. one of my favorite soul songs of the 70s... http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ubOGHr8lXag
31st August 2009

You are awesome
Teddy, You are really talented. This writing is great. You can thank me and Dad for your comedic skills. Is it your perception that children in China are better-behaved than in the US? Love, Mom
19th September 2009

kiddies
i knew you'd be great!!

Tot: 0.179s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.1135s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb