Day-to-day Mundanity


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Liaoning » Dalian » Dalian
April 5th 2009
Published: April 5th 2009
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: Korean Break-dancing team 119 secs
Chinese new year's hits my front doorChinese new year's hits my front doorChinese new year's hits my front door

I got home from holiday to this excitement!
Mundanity? I feel as though it suits what the past couple of months have been since returning from holiday. I was sick with a lung infection for about 4 weeks (check out my exciting lung x-ray in the photos), and this weekend I was finally struck by a rather horrific stomach bug that has been plaguing our school. It was the first weekend I finally felt well enough to go out since my lung infection, so I was all dressed up, and headed by cab into Dalian, only to arrive at the bar where my friends were meeting to discover that there was no possible way I could keep my dinner down. So, head between my knees, I took the $20 cabride 40 minutes back home without ever exiting. Mundanity, indeed.

There are a little less than three months of teaching before this year will be over, and this shocks me. I feel as though I am only now beginning to figure out what teaching is about. It's certainly been an interesting ride so far, with tons of mistakes made on a daily basis, but I'm learning, and generally I'm pleased with the progress I'm making. One of my coworkers
My lungs!My lungs!My lungs!

Can you spot the infection?
sadly died last month at school, before the first bell, which devestated both faculty and the student body. What good came out of it is that the school really pulled together, and some positive connections were made (we have no formal support system for students when something like that happens). I had students dropping off notes of support and chocolate bars when they themselves were distraught. It was sweet.

We had a charity concert organized by staff and students last week where there were some fun and great performances. I've included a clip of some of the fabulous Korean breakdancing team (of which a handful of students I proudly teach) to show what kinds of neat-o talent we have here. I plan on joining their team, but whenever I tell my students that they get embarrassed and hide their faces in their hands. I haven't the foggiest as to why.

I've been scoping out future schools (for 2010-2011), and was sort of considering the UAE or Thailand, but the schools in UAE are being negatively effected by the recession (aka are not hiring and if they are, aren't offering competitive salaries), and the BC school in Thailand sounds
UFO hillUFO hillUFO hill

This is the UFO a few blocks from my house; I can see it from my apartment. There are some great little walking trails, and it's quite tranquil.
like it's a little bumpy since it's only in its second year of operation. I recently discovered an American school in Quito, Equador (9,000m above sea-level) that is well established, recognizes an increase in pay for Master's degrees, and requires two-years minimum experience teaching, which means their staff is a little more experienced than where I am now (which means more possible mentorship). It would also be cool to live in South America for a while; I'm worried staying in Asia for too long will make me jaded, and I don't want to be jaded (like oh-so-many people I know) about a place I really enjoy. I figure it would also be cool (and easier) to learn Spanish, and to be able to fly to Canada a little more quickly and with less jet-lag (perhaps also encouraging more visitors...? Come visit me?). Anything might happen between now and then (the school might not be hiring, or might not want me; I might decide to stay here; I might decide to move back to Canada, etc), but right now it's a tentative plan.

I don't really have anything else to say...enjoy the photos of my student's artwork (I'm like a
Corny Corny Corny

These odd statutes graces the pleasant walking hills of the UFO
new mother who can't help but photograph every little baby gurgle) and shots from out and about Kaifaqu and Dalian.

Over and out.



Additional photos below
Photos: 36, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

CrabbyCrabby
Crabby

These crabs grace the shores of the man-made lake within the walking hills of the UFO
BearyBeary
Beary

Yet another crazy statue gracing the hills of the UFO park
Jin Shi Tan stationJin Shi Tan station
Jin Shi Tan station

I see this sign every day, twice a day
Every sign post is a laundry lineEvery sign post is a laundry line
Every sign post is a laundry line

Random corners in Dalian. In one alley we saw a man getting a haircut by a barber in front of an enormous pile of dirt. It was like an outdoor, back alley barbershop.
don't askdon't ask
don't ask

Me getting crazy with animal crackers in my office
Character puppetryCharacter puppetry
Character puppetry

Creative English students doing presentations on "The Giver"


Tot: 0.115s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0548s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb