Christmas celebrations


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Jiangsu » Zhangjiagang
December 25th 2010
Published: December 25th 2010
Edit Blog Post

So as soon as I’d had a shower, I was whisked off to a restaurant called ‘trippys’ nicknamed so because of the wallpaper they used to have there! Two of the girls treated me to dinner- proper Chinese food- I actually dreamt about it after. It’s so so nice there- we had some fish soup, fried pork, fried beans, some kind of potato dish and some rice. My chopstick skills are terrible, but I managed! We had sooo much food and for the whole lot it was the equivalent of £9- bargain!! We went from there to Malone’s – the irish bar where I met the rest of the inebriated team and got bought copious amounts of alcohol for the entire night. They don’t measure shots here- I must have drank about 1 pint of Malibu. At 12 the bar started playing every Christmas song imaginable and everyone in the bar toasted to Christmas! We got a taxi home where I spent ages talking to my temp flatmate before I went to bed and passed out.
I was woken at 8.30 am this morning by my temp flatmate- was kinda weird not being woken up by Jess with a cup of tea and a smile- miss you xx we then went to one of the couples who work here for an English fry- up (cooked with Chinese ingredients) it was fun and after we ate, my temp flatmate and future flatmate and I got a taxi to the nearest supermarket to get ingredients for Christmas dinner! The supermarket was so much fun- Chinese people are so curious about foreigners and i’ve had the odd comment that I am very beautiful! The fresh food here is weird- chickens with whole heads left on and donkey willies (ha ha, willy!)
We are all at another of the teacher’s places now and dinner is about to be served! Better go- miss you all xx


Advertisement



Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0468s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb