The journey


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Jiangsu » Zhangjiagang
December 25th 2010
Published: December 28th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Right, I apologize for the delay in updating this- I've been without internet since I got here and I've been dying to tell you all about it!
The plane journey was amazing, crazy, boring, fun- every adjective you can imagine! In Manchester 2 people where taken off the plane by British passport police with their suspicious looking luggage, our plane was one hour delayed and I was stuck in between two of the smelliest people all the way to Istanbul! I was so thirsty when i arrived but discovered that although they do accept sterling in the airport, they don't take coins and the bureau de change would not change my Yuan at all- needless to say it was a very thirsty and hot 6 hours AND the airport does not have aircon!!! My wait was fun though- I met these Swiss guys who didn't know any English, but one was playing the most awesome jazz guitar- it's crazy how much you get to talk to people when you travel on your own.
my plane to Shanghai boarded and took off on time, which was pretty awesome - first time ever I think!! I got my seat- middle aisle in the middle of the plane and was disapointed despite the tv screen in the back of the seat and on-demand films THEN a lovely Chinese girl asked if I could swap with her so she could sit next to her friend- when I got to her seat I was sooooo happy- I was right at the front in an extra legroom seat- I could stretch right out! I was comfortable despite the fat Turkish man next to me who kept falling asleep on my shoulder and asking me for my number!!!
William and the 'driver' met me at the airport in a really nice leather seated car and It was so nice to sit back and look out of a window. I saw the Shanghai skyline from a distance, which was really cool. There is like NO highway code here. There are 4 lanes on the motorway, but it think this is guidance- sometimes there are 6 cars in a row. flatbed lorries carry furniture and matresses to taller than the height of an articulated lorry tied on by a small piece of rope!
When I arrived here it was very dark, but there are so many lights and neon signs- the light pollution is terrible! Mark will like this- there's a huge lazer beam on top of the tallest building which circles the sky above the city for miles- pictures will follow! I arrived at my temporary flatmate's place and it's lovely- but very cold!
Love to you all- miss you!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0487s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb