Sketches on the Job


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Jiangsu » Yangzhou
June 22nd 2010
Published: June 22nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

We would all be dishing out 狗屁 or gǒupì, literally meaning “dog-farts” aka bulls**t, if we claimed to never have encountered computer problems. In the case of working and living in China I would be flat out lying through my teeth if I said my IT world was all happy with smiles. Oh Lord the frustration; so in my usual effort to avoid too much direct confrontation, perhaps mid-November,
I gave up on Chinese computers all together.

As it turns out, we don’t need computers for everything and often times a piece of paper and a pencil do the trick just fine. Third graders don’t care if their lesson on kitchen utensils is presented on a hand-drawn worksheet instead of a Power Point presentation. Why should I? Since this small revelation mid-November I have sat myself down every Monday morning for the past 30-odd weeks and graphically thought my way through the next week’s English lesson.

Each class of kids contains between 35 and 37 kids, third graders, all ready to be as energetic as possible. The minute the bell rings, and then for the following forty minutes, the flood gates open and the student’s attention is either 47%!(NOVERB)mine or not at all. From the very beginning, teaching a mass of kids is a complete race against time and an uphill battle keeping everyone as active, busy and engaged as possible for as long as possible. Usually we start with a drill or two - reviewing days of the week, today, tomorrow, and yesterday. From there we segue into a song or two like the “Itsy Bitsy Spider” or the “Hokey Pokey”. This past week we learned “You Are My Sunshine” with a token fake-puke after the line, “You’ll never know dear, how much I love you, blaaahhhh”.



The next portion of the battle plan is to attack on all fronts - we sing, we dance, we draw, we write, we talk and ask questions, and then we do it all over again. A long time ago a smart guy named Fleming came up with a silly acronym… “VARK”.

V is for visual Learning

A is for auditory learning

R is for reading and writing

K is for kinesthetic or tactile learning aka “touch it or play with it and thou shalt learn.”

Acronyms aside, I figure everyone learns a little
Jim's Beach StoreJim's Beach StoreJim's Beach Store

What is the original price of a beach towel? And the sale price of a pair of sunglasses? You tell me --
bit differently and if I throw in something fun for all those different learners, hopefully at least a little bit will stick. That said, my kids and I learn from a splash of everything; with a large emphasis on “Vark”, “vArk”, “vaRk”, and “varK”…

I especially enjoy two portions of this approach to teaching - moving around and drawing. I feel lots of moving around is especially good for my personal mental health; it can’t hurt to apply the same mentality with third graders. The other thing that keeps me especially engaged is learning through drawing. Drawing keeps me happy and it keeps the kids a bit busier - they either draw on their desk, on other kids, or on my worksheets, and if they are going to draw, they might as well do it in English.

My student’s endless energy is absolutely contagious and after a full year of teaching nine and ten-year olds I will really miss them --



Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

Sports Day!Sports Day!
Sports Day!

What sports do you like to play? How do you play badminton?
What do you do today?What do you do today?
What do you do today?

What time do you study tai-chi? I study tai-chi at 9:30 am...
Scrub-a-dub-dub!Scrub-a-dub-dub!
Scrub-a-dub-dub!

How do you brush your teeth? What do you do first, second, third, and then fourth?
-- Track and Field Day ---- Track and Field Day --
-- Track and Field Day --

What event do you enjoy the most? Why? I enjoy the 10,000 meter event most because I can run far...
Treasure MapTreasure Map
Treasure Map

Where is the treasure? And the pirate?
Solar System and -est wordsSolar System and -est words
Solar System and -est words

Which planet is biggest? Which planet is coldest? Which planet is reddest?
Whales and DolphinsWhales and Dolphins
Whales and Dolphins

How much does a baby whale weigh? A whole hell of a lot.
The Continents The Continents
The Continents

Where does an Ant Eater live? And a penguin?
Traveling GameTraveling Game
Traveling Game

Where do you want to travel? Can you draw a boat? How about a bicycle?
Elizabeth's Sixth Grade ClassElizabeth's Sixth Grade Class
Elizabeth's Sixth Grade Class

Elizabeth teaches ten different classes, twice a week. This class is class three of the ten.
Elizabeth's Sixth Grade ClassElizabeth's Sixth Grade Class
Elizabeth's Sixth Grade Class

Elizabeth's class five.
My kidsMy kids
My kids

Typical third graders...
My third gradersMy third graders
My third graders

This is one of my five classes that I see three times a week.
Elizabeth's Sixth Grade ClassElizabeth's Sixth Grade Class
Elizabeth's Sixth Grade Class

Elizabeth's class seven.


22nd June 2010

Great teaching methods!
Your teaching methods are really creative! I loved the photos. You will miss your students, but they will undoubtedly miss you! Can't wait to see you!
22nd June 2010

Hi Kelly - Your worksheets are wonderful! It seems like you've been there forever! When do you and Elizabeth come home? - Beth

Tot: 0.141s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 56; dbt: 0.081s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb