Spring is in the Air!


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Jiangsu » Changzhou
April 9th 2012
Published: April 11th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Now that the weather is finally starting to turn here and we aren't layered up until we look like Ralphie in A Christmas Story, we are able to bring some of our favorite American things to China. With the opening season of baseball, we decided what better time than now to buy a BBQ for our China home? Nick settled on a nice red one, that is just big enough to get the job done. We got it back to our place, unpackaged it, and Nick did just fine putting together our Made in China grill 😊 He celebrated the feat by grilling up some tasty garlic-ginger marinated pork chops. This happened to be one of the same days the Mariners were playing a couple expo games in Tokyo, which is just one hour ahead of us. We were able to feel ultra-American eating BBQ and cheering on my baseball team.

Going along with the theme of spring, we had a lovely Easter over here. It is strange being away from family on holidays where it seems the biggest tradition is a big feast shared among extended family members, but we did alright over here. I got to surprise Nick and play Easter bunny by creating a makeshift Easter basket out of whatever I could find here. Nick made a fabulous rice porridge, or 米粥 (mi zhou) for our Easter brunch. Essentially you over cook rice with plenty of water over several hours, until the rice just falls apart. Nick added chicken, ginger, garlic, onions and bok choy. Nick also ventured out and found some white wine and sprite -- our "wine spritzer" substitute for mimosas. Like I have said, over here, you have to work with what you have.

To round out our great week, I got a care package from home and still have a smile on my face from it. Thank you mom and dad! Nick and I got plenty of American goodies to hold us over until we can get our hands on some more. We are definitely getting to that point where we love the Chinese food, but a box of Girl Scout cookies is just what we are craving.

Also, I would like to congratulate my sister and brother-in-law on the new addition to their family! This past weekend they got an adorable lab puppy named Dozer. I was lucky enough to be able to Skype with them and get a look at the cutie. I wish I could be home to play with him in the puppy phase, but I am excited nonetheless to play with him when I come home. Congrats you guys!

I hope everyone had a wonderful Easter weekend!

--Lauren


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Changzhou College of Information TechnologyChangzhou College of Information Technology
Changzhou College of Information Technology

The Foreign Language building where we do most our teaching.


11th April 2012

BBQ
Love the color, too bad in did not say made in USA
13th April 2012

Cool looking building!
I hope this finds you both well and happy! I transferred to Louisville, KY and am now a FORD worker. From all your pictures it looks pretty much modern there and the collage must be architecturally pretty cool. Enjoy your travels and know that I am thinking of you two. Take lots of pictures and post them on your blog, its pretty neat to see how the other side of the world lives! Take care!
24th April 2012

HELLO ! ! ! !
Haven't seen any new STUFF lately, whatcha been up to? Can't wait to see you both! Only a month! love you!

Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0279s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb