Further adventures in Wuhan


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Hubei » Wuhan
November 23rd 2010
Published: November 23rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

First post of this school year! How lazy of me.

I don't know if I mentioned it, but this year I'm teaching grades three and four. They are all grades that I've taught before, as well as children that I've taught before. It's been fun so far. I'm also taking six hours a week of Chinese lessons, and starting to learn character reading and writing.

This past week was parents week, which means that the mothers and fathers of the children could come to the school to watch our classes. That meant a bit of extra stress, in terms of making everything especially shiny, but things are back to the normal routine now.

I won teacher of the year at my school, which meant going to a ceremony where they gave me a plaque. So, now I have a plaque. I also got a news cast, which was interesting to say the least. I had a video crew following me around for part of the day, and interviewing my students and stuff.

The day after tomorrow is Thanksgiving. For the last two years, I haven't celebrated Thanksgiving, because I was too busy, it was too expensive, and it took too much effort. I'm doing it this year, though. Myself and fifteen other teachers have reservations at Aloha (best Western restaurant in Wuhan, by leaps and bounds.), where a proper turkey dinner will be served. The school is lovely. Aloha is in Hanyang. In the past, Wuhan was three cities (Hankou, Wuchang, and Hankou). Going to Hanyang is practically like going to another city, and dinner time falls right in the middle of Chinese rush hour, which makes getting down there even more difficult. I asked the school if we could pay to rent the van and driver that takes us to school every morning to drive us to Aloha. The teachers were all ready to split the cost, whatever it was, but the school gave us the van for free. So everything is set for enjoying my first real Thanksgiving in China.

It looks like our winter holiday starts on the fifteenth of January. It might end on the eighteenth of February. Maybe. I've been looking at flights home, and the cheapest option would be to arrive in New York. I'm planning to go to New York during my trip anyway, so perhaps I'll start with that, although I know I'll be impatient to get to Maine and see my family. I very much need to start planning this soon.

Advertisement



23rd November 2010

Always love reading your travelblog
Have a happy Thanksgiving. We all miss you so much and are looking forward to seeing you this winter!!
23rd November 2010

Good to get an update from you......All your friends in Maine miss you..........Congrats on 'Teacher of the Year'.................Happy Thanksgiving.......Bruce, Carole, and Betty

Tot: 0.124s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0576s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb