Ready to Serve


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Hangzhou
May 1st 2014
Published: May 1st 2014
Edit Blog Post

When I started preparations to come to China, I knew that this experience was the first step in the direction of the rest of my life. Almost two years ago, I applied for this position in China because I had the itch: I needed to get back out into the international community; I needed to test my limitations; I needed to learn new things about myself and about the world; I needed to rebuild my confidence. Something about the job description with this company called Disney English had me knowing that this experience was a step in that direction.

My experience with Disney and with China has delivered all of the above with great success, and for this I am eternally thankful.

Last night - about 12 hours ago, in fact - I was nominated for service with the Peace Corps.



My interview with my Peace Corps (despite my extreme nerves leading up to it) was an absolute breeze. My experience in China has set me up for a high level of success with the Peace Corps. i have already overcome many challenges with regards to culture shock, relocation, language barriers and so on - and these tend to be the biggest concerns for recruiters when it comes to a candidates potential. So, it's true -- I have China to thank for opening the doors to the rest of my life.

Once all of my piles of paper have been submitted and cleared, I will be set to deploy in March 2015. My location has not yet been determined, as there are a lot of factors that go into that decision. However, as those conversations continue between the Peace Corps and myself, I will certainly keep you all informed.

In the meantime, this is what I know:

- I've been nominated to serve in a leadership capacity -- likely to be teacher training at the university and/or district level, offering support during periods of education reform.

- There are 6 programs that I could potentially serve, 2 of which are more likely, based on need. But, I'm not 100%!s(MISSING)ure about those yet, so I don't see the need in raising hype about locations just yet.

- I will be serving for 27 months, starting in March 2015 - which means I'll be concluding my service around May 2017.

- I will probably be in the States from January 2015 until my date of departure in March.

- I have a lot of paperwork to do.



I've received a lot of very positive support in this process so far, and for that I thank you all. Disney is aware of my decision to apply, and they, too, are very supportive of this move - despite their outward hope that I would stay on in a leadership capacity here in China.

I'm full of mixed feelings this morning. I'm excited, I'm determined, I'm focused, I'm ready, I'm on the move.

Once again, it's time to go.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.148s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0757s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb