May your body fine...


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Hangzhou
September 24th 2012
Published: September 24th 2012
Edit Blog Post

...Was Rex's way of telling me he hoped I was feeling better. Due to a chest cold, I had wheezed my way through a climb with him up to some nearby temples, after which he sent a follow-up email enquiring after my health. The English level of my students is pretty elementary, with a handful of "superstars" who really want to speak English standing out from the crowd. These students will become my touchstones here, and I will make every effort to cultivate them as social contacts and my inadvertent Chinese teachers.

Their English monikers are sometimes hysterical. I can only think that they have given themselves the most outrageous among them because they like the words without realizing how they actually sound in English. Some examples: Laughing, Coughing, Motorola, Cocacola, Samsun, Summer, Zero, Eleven...you get the picture.

Still trying to pick a destination for next week's holiday break. We had pretty much settled on Bangkok, until hearing about typhoon season there. The city experienced terrible flooding this time last year, and is girding its provenly inadequate drainage system for this season's onslaught. Back to the drawing board...

Advertisement



26th September 2012

May Your Body Fine
Hope you are feeling better and yes living in China takes a great deal of energy, but I find readjusting back to the US does also. Feel Better Soon!

Tot: 0.126s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0645s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb