Lost in Xijiang


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Guizhou » Xijiang
August 1st 2012
Published: August 1st 2012
Edit Blog Post

Hi All,

Mmmmm. Didn't quite go to plan this trip. All went well up until I walked out of Xijiang.

I got to Kaili without a hitch. I did have some trouble finding a hotel though. I walked around for an hour before I found one that would accept foreigners. The next day I was early for the bus to Xijiang and so I arrived in Xijiang at around 10 o'clock in the morning which was perfect.

I had planned this trip for a while. The plan was to walk from Xijiang to Paiyang, about 2 or 3 days, but I could find no maps, only road maps and in Chinese, so I was always going to have to rely on someone pointing me in the right direction. I was armed with the name of Paiyang village written in Hanzi so that I would have no problems, or so I thought.

So early into Xijiang. I didn't realy stop to look at this rather large and expensive, 100 rmb entrance fee, Miao village. I asked some policemen and they pointed me in the direction of Paiyang. People confirmed I was going the right way as I was leaving the village. Then I got above the village and the path went 3 ways with no one to ask or signposts, so I chose to carry straight on, which I did at nearly every choice of pathways. This turned out to be a mistake as it took me right to the top of this mountain. I found waterfalls, lakes and eventually a marshy summit but no people and definitely not Paiyang.

It rained all day and the humidity was so great that my clothes were just as wet under my poncho as they were in the rain. Eventually the camera gave up because of the wet and humidity.

I had to get a move on back down the mountain as I only had a few hours before it was going to get dark. I just made it back to Xijiang as the light was fading.

I was so tired from the days climb that I decided to go back home the next day.

It was a hell of a trip, even if it was only for 3 days, and gave me a few first of which one was having a leech on my leg. Wierd never had a leech before. Unfortunately I didn't get a photo as the camera had given up by then.

Back to Europe next week to see family and friends. I can't wait to see you all.

Enjoy the photos

Jah Bless


Additional photos below
Photos: 46, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



2nd August 2012

So Adventurous!
Maybe it can be the most risky trip you had experienced.Unforgettable? hehe~~~ Wish you a good time with your family and friends.
7th August 2012

Wowww
So awesomeeee

Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 14; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0267s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb