China continued...


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Guangxi » Yangshuo
July 8th 2012
Published: July 8th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Hello!

So I realised that I neglected to mention in my last post that i went out on a day trip to the Great Wall of China- kind of a big thing to miss off my list of things I've done!

The trip on the Yangtze was good fun and I learnt a Chinese game called Mah jong. I was pretty rubbish at it to be honest, good job we weren't betting for real!

After the boat we had three buses, a bullet train and one overnight train to our next destination, Yangshou, which is where I am now. It's a village in Chinese terms- only 300,000 inhabitants. Chongqing, the largest city, has 32 million!!

We arrived here midday yesterday and went to a Chinese cookery class in the afternoon. We made egg dumplings, yangshou style aubergine, steamed chicken with goji berries, wilted spinach with garlic and soy and stir fry pork with various vegetables. It was all yummy!

Today we were up and out at 8 o clock for a cycle ride. We went to a place called moon hill and hiked up and down a hill before having a great buffet lunch. In the afternoon we went to a mudbath and hot spring in a cave and got very very messy! I still have mud in my ears! This evening I went and had a pedicure and wondered around the market here.

Tomorrow we are going for a river cruise on bamboo rafts on the River Li and then getting the overnight train to the border with Hong Kong. We arrive in Hong Kong Tuesday lunchtime and I'll have just over a day to explore before heading home.

Sorry for lack of photos again but I need something to bore you with when i'm back!!!

Love and cuddles xxxx

Advertisement



8th July 2012

Can't wait to see you back in dear old blighty, my love. Take care, mummy xxx

Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0532s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb