China, a personal account


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Guangxi » Guigang
April 27th 2007
Published: April 27th 2007
Edit Blog Post

There are 5 stages of culture shock. 1st stage is the honeymoon stage where people enjoy the excitement that arises from being in a new place where everything is interesting, one is constantly experiencing a mild ecstasy, traveling to new and interesting places.

Then there is the 2nd stage, this is the actual shock. Realising that one is REALLY living in a new country.

With patience I hope to jump quickly into the 3rd stage of culture shock which is plunging into the life of the new country and immersing oneself into the new way of living.

Fourth stage is the assimilation characterised with full participation in the way of life in the new country. This takes around a year.

Fifth stage is reverse culture shock when moving back to homeland.

I have been in China for 2 months, 16 days and about 11 hours and today is the first time I have seen a blue sky. The weather is warm and dry, the birds are singing, it's just like a spring day in Melbourne. And I just worked out my front verandah gets the morning sun and my back verandah gets the afternoon sun...
school kitchenschool kitchenschool kitchen

the kids line up at each window with their bowls for breakfast lunch and dinner. There are no table and chairs so the kids eat while they play table tennis of sit on the concrete with the bowl on their laps
How beautiful and wonderful it is. A dash of sunshine and blue sky is just want i needed! I have opened all my doors and windows and we had a big spring clean.

My week: Monday afternoons, Chinese lessons. Tuesdays, hair washed. Saturdays I go to Liz's house and play with 10 kids from Grade 3 to give them some confidence with their English and with speaking to foreigners (they are so gorgeous, see picture). Saturday night we have dinner at Liz's and after dinner we head out for our weekly massage. Life in China has a very relaxed pace. Ma ma Li (slowly, slowly).

Damo started teaching English on Tuesday at another school only 5 minutes walk from me which is great. His Chinese assistant said he is a very fast learner and he came home on the first day on a natural high. I know he will be a great teacher and the students will love him!

Today is the first day of The May Day holiday and we have 11 days off. Damo and I are going to Bei hai about 300kms south of Guigang. It is a beach town and our hotel is apparently right on the beach. The beach is famous in China for the 20 kms of pristine white sand. I'm gonna go swimming - YAY!- even if its freezing... I cant wait. Stay tuned for more on Bei hai.

Love Dani.xx










Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

DavieDavie
Davie

He is the smallest boy in Grade 7 and gorgeous.
No, he's the smallestNo, he's the smallest
No, he's the smallest

small body but big smile
Chinese checkersChinese checkers
Chinese checkers

Girls from my Grade 8 class
one of our localsone of our locals
one of our locals

mei fun... vegetarian noodles - YUM!! see the tiny seats..
new shop, fake flowersnew shop, fake flowers
new shop, fake flowers

whenever a new shop opens these big bouquet of flowers stand at the entrance. They are fake and must be passed from shop to shop. new shops appear overnight..
Traditional Chinese MedicineTraditional Chinese Medicine
Traditional Chinese Medicine

These herbs and spices are just outside the doctors room. you get diagnosed, buy your herbals and go back inside for it to be grinded up and made into medicine
local taxilocal taxi
local taxi

middle aged women pedal these all around town.


27th April 2007

just want to say I love you enjoy your holidays see you soon your bloggs are so good. Hi to damo
27th April 2007

you are so brave
i think you are so good i would have left by now not my way of life but the children would loue you a big hug lots of loue so brave xxx sandy
28th April 2007

i remembered the red flowers from Korea - I wonder if it happens all through Asia? I like the look of your markets, but I may bring my own stool for when we go out to eat! see you soon.
28th April 2007

Thanks!!
Hi Dan, thanks for the experience here, it is a truly unique place that has to be seen with your own eyes to believe.... I am enjoying my time here and look forward to the challenges that lie ahead.... Bring on the beach I am sure we will have a great time... You are a great Teacher and a wonderful companion..... Love Damo xxxxx

Tot: 0.115s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 11; qc: 62; dbt: 0.078s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb