YANLING day 7


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Guangdong » Guangzhou
May 24th 2014
Published: May 24th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Destination: YANLING



Distance: 143 Kms SubT. 967. Kms Bal 11,007 Kms Road Condition:

CONSTRUCTION WORKS/ Highway

Weather: Rain 75% dry 25%

Time in Saddle: 6.30 hrs Av Speed: av. 24 kph. Av Cadence. 75rpm

Elevation: m up; M down

Calories burned : 4693



Interesting day. Departed in showers which turned the road work to mud, so ended up splattered, just after I cleaned the bike. The road was slippery in parts and the rain relentless for the first 3 hours. Road in a group to lunch. My trip notes became wet so at lunch needed to transcribe a new set. The group left and I stayed behind to eat.



Afternoon ride solo was pleasant. Road into YANLING, our town for the night and I lost the tape markers. Ended up riding the town, quite large as it turned out with no success, so returned to entry point waiting for other riders. 30 mins later no riders. So phoned the Chinese guide. Initially my phone wouldn't work so a friendly chinaman offered me his. Guide directed my chinaman to the address. I followed his van, vey exciting ( haha). Missed the street by one. Anyway arrived safe, muddy and sound. Spent the next hour cleaning the bike. Hopefully that doesn't auger rain tomorrow!



TDA swapped hotel again ( so my instructions were useless, don't know how others found it, MASTERMINDS MY GUESS). Very nice foyer, however my roomy and I clogged the basin drain washing our clothes necessitating a maintenance call.



Looking forward to an early night.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



25th May 2014

On the road
Just got back from my holiday in Spain and catching up on your blog, Sounds like the trip is going well and that your cycling times are typically impressive. Actually sounds great and I am enjoying reading the blog which is just about the right length! By contrast to your exploits I did a cycle in Spain but it was about 10 miles along the beach promenade on an old bike and if you take the coffee stop into account the average speed was probably 8 miles per hour! Still I am planning to do lots of cycling now I am back home and the weather is improving. Back to you - keep it up and I look forward to reading more about your adventure. Cheers. Peter
26th May 2014

Your comment to BKKCYCLIST
Hi Peter, Spain sounds good, cervaisas? , Spanish food, good breakfasts, MUST BE AMAZING. Scenery here average so far, expecting it to improve the further west we ride. Don't know whether I am getting fit or TIRED. R

Tot: 0.382s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0758s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb