Tiger Mountain and Five Dragon Hill


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Dongbei » Dandong
October 7th 2005
Published: October 10th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Train to DalianTrain to DalianTrain to Dalian

This is the a picture taken from the inside of the train to Dalian.
So we're finally on the train back to Dalian. Unfortunately we have tickets for regular seats instead of sleepers so I will be sleeping sitting up or curled into a ball tonight but soon we'll be back in Dalian.

Yesterday I went to Five Dragon "Hill" (even though the character is "mountain" they call it "hill"). It was a really cool place. Unfortunately I had a cold so I didn't get to climb up to the very top but I did get to climb a very long way and see almost all of the temples and two gardens with all 12 animals for the Chinese calendar years. I got some beautiful pictures. Then Cat and I took another bus to Tiger Mountain. She didn't come with me to the wall but I got to go to my first peice of the Great Wall which is on the border between China and Korea. I met two really sweet South Korean women (about my age) who go to university (yes, that's correct Canadian English) in Beijing. So Yeon spoke little English and kept responding in Chinese and then hemming and hawwing to translate it (although oftentimes I understood already). She is majoring
Yalu BridgeYalu BridgeYalu Bridge

Here I am standing at the beginning of the Yalu Bridge with North Korea behind me.
in Chinese Medicine. Her friend Yoon En Gun is majoring in journalism and had much better English. They both spoke Korean to each other and then very clear Chinese when they needed to and English to me. Their Chinese was very easy for me to understand. We also met a man who had been living in Japan for a while but was from China. I also met another family who tried talking to me in a heavy Chinese accent and then proceeded to talk about me the rest of the way down the wall. I got some pictures of them in their costumes that they had rented. I then had to use the bathroom (or WC) and the ladies were really funny about it. I waked into the house and towards the restroom and one of the ladies cleared her throat. It took them two minutes to try to figure out how to ask me for 5 mao (1/2 of a kuai, 1 mao=1/16th of a dollar) I should have said I didn't understand them and just go about my business but I gave them the mao. Later Cat and I had a very tiring dinner of Chinese food and
Yalu BridgeYalu BridgeYalu Bridge

This is the blown up end of the bridge with North Korea behind it.
I passed out after my ... first shower!

Today Cat and I packed and checked out of the hotel, although we left our luggage there for the day. Then we went to the Yalu River (on the border of Korea and China). I decided to spend the 20 kuai to go on the old Yalu bridge that had been bombed by the US in the Korean War. I think there was a lot of it that had been rebuilt because the picture only showed the beams standing and the rest had fallen but it was still interesting. Then Cat and Cherry and I all went shopping. We had a lunch of some really good noodles and bought some food for the train and I bought two new pairs of pants. It was when we got back to the hotel, after saying bye to Cherry, that Cat found out we had bought the wrong tickets. Unfortunately, unlike Indian trains where you can very easily switch classes, Chinese trains are very strict about the four kuai difference between classes and we would have had to pay for all four seats instead of just paying the difference. I'm exhausted now though so
Yalu BridgeYalu BridgeYalu Bridge

This is the blown up end of the bridge with North Korea behind it.
I think it's about time to curl up and pass out.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Entrance to the Great WallEntrance to the Great Wall
Entrance to the Great Wall

This is a look at China from the Great Wall. If you look carefully there are what looks like two parking lots. The one on the right is the entrance to the Great Wall.
New South Korean friends on the Great WallNew South Korean friends on the Great Wall
New South Korean friends on the Great Wall

This is a new South Korean friend of mine who I met on the Wall and myself on the Wall.
Great Wall Traditional GarbGreat Wall Traditional Garb
Great Wall Traditional Garb

These are three Chinese people that I met on the Great Wall (who were making fun of me a lot) who I got a picture with as they rented some traditional garb to wear.
Exit to the Great WallExit to the Great Wall
Exit to the Great Wall

This is a look at the exit to the Great Wall with North Korea in the background.
Five Dragon Hill.Five Dragon Hill.
Five Dragon Hill.

This is the view of Five Dragon Hill from the road leading up to it. At the end of this part of the road is a big hotel. This picture looks to me very much like a traditional Chinese painting.
Coin TosserCoin Tosser
Coin Tosser

This is a traditional piece that is used to throw coins in as good luck before one enters the main temple. You can see the temple, a side building and the rest of Five Dragon Hill in the background.
Stairway at Five Dragon HillStairway at Five Dragon Hill
Stairway at Five Dragon Hill

This is a stone carving on the stairway up to the main temple at Five Dragon Hill just outside of Dandong. There is a random woman standing in front. If you look very carefully you can see a dragon carved into the bottom right of the stone.
Inside the main temple at Five Dragon HillInside the main temple at Five Dragon Hill
Inside the main temple at Five Dragon Hill

This is a Buddhist idol found in the main temple at Five Dragon Hill.


23rd October 2005

Awesome pictures, Jupe!!!!

Tot: 0.192s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.131s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb