Latest Experience


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing
May 20th 2012
Published: May 31st 2012
Edit Blog Post

This blog will be a little different as it will be an interview style. Pete is over writing blogs so I "interviewd" him about his recent 5 day trip to Beijing, May 16th-20th.



Reason for going: to visit Yalin, business contact we met in our 1st visit to China in September 2007 and to see Riley, a friend from CTLC 2009-2010.



How was Beijing different this time than the past 3 times you have visited?

This was the 1st time I didn't go to a section of the Great Wall as I have seen 3 different sections: Badaling, Mutianyu and Jian something 3-4 hrs from Beijing. The only tourist attractions I saw were to walk around Tiananmen Square and free sections of Forbidden City with Mike, as this was his 1st visit to Beijing.



How were you treated differently in Beijing than Hangzhou?


• Cab drivers wouldn't pick us up since we were "foreigners"
• Chinese men tried to pick fights at the bars in Sanlitun (tourist bar area)
• Car came into oncoming traffic in the opposing lane and almost hit me, so I gave him the finger, the man jumped out of his car and cursed at me and acted like he wanted to fight.

*There were 2 incidents that involved foreigners, 1 British man and 1 Russian man, in Beijing a few days before his visit that lead to the 100 Day Clean Up of Illegal Working Foreigners. Check out this link for more info.

How was the International Clinic in Beijing compared to the one in Hangzhou? I saw an Australian "Real" Doctor for one, where he actually took the time to listen to me and my 7 visits to the hospitals and clinics along with their care plans which have left me still sick once I stop the antiboitics. I was diagnosed with Staph infection in my noise which requires 30 days of Cefradine capsules and then follow up once this is completed. The pills costs 300 rmb ($45) for 7 days of treatment at the International Clinic in Beijing. The Dr wrote me a prescription to buy the remaining 23 days of treatment at a Chinese hospital upon my return to Hangzhou. The pills in Hangzhou at the Zhe Da clinic costs me 118 rmb ($18.58) for 12 days of treatment.



*No pictures were taken by Pete on this trip.

Advertisement



1st June 2012

''How were you treated differently in Beijing than Hangzhou? ''
What you(Pete) experienced is truely awful! It is frightening how much damage just a little propaganda can do. One would expect better of people, but I suppose one unfortunately can\'t. I am pretty relieved that it is last August I was in China, rather than this comming August. People were amazingly friendly towards me as a foreigner, when I was there last year.

Tot: 0.166s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0542s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb