Getting use to their time...


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing
May 22nd 2012
Published: May 22nd 2012
Edit Blog Post

Yesterday, <span><span> while I was walking on the street, and after witnessing more than 5 spitting cases, I arrived to this conclusion. I am going to prove it if<span> I am wrong during the rest of my trip. <span> Chinese spits regarding their head movements.<span>They use a lot of the nose and throat to speak in their language, to this adding the pollution, and Bingo! There is not other exit for them I guess than spiting.



On the other hand, this line could sounds a little bit scatological for you in abroad but Chinese spit and fart freely so much that I need to understand this.



I researched and Its leader Mao encourage this as well, he said this: <span> If you have to fart, fart! You will all feel much better for it, Mao Tze- Dong. So this is obviously a cultural behavior embrace by their heros.<span> So I have to be flexible but I am impressed how well women learnt his leader saying and how they follow his advice in public places.



I have been on Summer Palace. Astonish huge, huge park full of palaces, temples, and structures of all kind.<span> I walk so much that I took a deserved boat to cross from the small island to the main palace entrance. It is full of locals and the construction of Quing monarchy is still impressive but it lost the colors, the glamour of ancient times I guess.



Then, I took a long, long ride on metro following several combinations and I arrived to Tianmen Square. It is so, so big that I was not able to cover it. Not even the 30%!o(MISSING)f it. After the Great Wall, and Summer Palace I have a bad legs pain. I feel I walk 10 meters and I need to rest. Is like you were out the gym for a year and one day you decided to do a long class the next day you can not use your calfs. Not good for this area where there are not chairs or benches. <span> I felt moved by being there. Not at all the same feeling than entering with the march to Madrid. But very moved under the gray sky.<span> I was a small creature taking pictures and video while thousand of cameras where shooting all my movements as well. <span> The modern Meninas image. A camera is the new mirror that shoot an object that is shoot by another camera to the infinitum…



I did not how but I managed to explain to a local I needed to unblock my old mobile phone to make it work the local sim card. I left my phone in a tiny place and the Chinese IT person brushed it for me. <span> (as he translate in this computer of what he was going to do for 100Y).<span> I wanted to make a deal and ask for less. I am sure he makes the day with me. But I figured it out that the same thing it will cost me 70u$ in<span> Merlose so both stayed happy<span>J Now I have a local phone. The best things is I can put and address at google and use as a GPS. I can go everywhere without feeling I will arrive to Mars.



At night I went to a Korean Grill restaurant to a 12 filmmaker table dinner. Organized by Melisa, a producer that studied at USC which I met thru Orly…Most of the people where foreign that gave me a great perspective of how documentaries and narrative films are made here. <span> Half of them where DPs trying to find the Asian Dream in this land of opportunities.<span> They told me the creative quality is still low, regulated, etc, but there is such a big amount of work that it worth it to be here. They highlight the possibility to live like a queen, going to eat out everyday for little amount of money and not having to feel they were starving artists.



On the other hand, I have a doubt about attending the Shangai International Film Festival, a journalist that was there from Australia convince me I should attend at least go to some parties. I will do my best.



Then I came back to the hostel walking around 14 blocks at 12 pm…I felt very safe. Even in dark<span> halls, there are cameras everywhere and people around all the time everywhere, people eating people chatting. I have the sense that Argentina and Mexico was like this many years ago when the word INSECURITY was not in our dictionary.



I am still waiting to received a notice from the Kung Fu movie<span> set with Sophie…she works at the Tv channel here in the documentary division, and they are doing a big production with the BBC on martial arts…I want to be there!!!



I am sure I am sleeping in a room behind a cage of several birds that are doing noises while trying to flight in the middle of the night…it is a very freaky sound. The sound of captivity mix with closed air and discomfort. Why over my head?? I am started to get use to their hours, but with birds is quite impossible!



Well, that all folks…I have my train ticket to overnight to the south on Thursday, not soft bed, I have a hard high level bench <span>L auchhhhhhh!



Today Lama Temple, Heaven Temple, Tianmen Again and Night Market to dinner….something unnamed .

Advertisement



22nd May 2012

que bueno
que bueno ir leyendo tus aventuras! en todo caso, a mi me parece genial poder tirarse pedos sin pudor, de eso podríamos aprender de los chinos!!!
23rd May 2012

adelante!! por suerte Topanga es grande!

Tot: 0.238s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0793s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb