Mom and Dad


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing
March 18th 2010
Published: March 19th 2010
Edit Blog Post

travelblog cover shottravelblog cover shottravelblog cover shot

why does no one reccomend my blog, look at these great pictures!
Greetings Netizens,

I have a story to finish. I saw my parents in Beijing. What a weird and fun experience that was. Mom and Dad thank you for coming to China. I had an amazing time. I thought it was so cool for me to be able to share my experiences here with you. Xie Xie!

I landed in Beijing and quickly met up with my crying mother (what a surprise). We took this vacation during the middle of Chinese spring festival. Spring festival (Chinese New Year) is the biggest and most important Chinese holiday. New Years Night is equivalent to Christmas Day in importance except Santa brings fireworks.

Fireworks literally shook our hotel windows the entire first night we were in Beijing. People outside in the streets were setting of fireworks EVERYWHERE. There was not a city block that did not have a group of people lighting off fireworks. I’m not talking about the type of fireworks you buy at Walmart. These are the type you would see at the City of Toledo 4th of July display. Unregulated and completely unsafe but really really cool.

We would hear fireworks everyday of the two weeks my parents
PerformancePerformancePerformance

The Chinese priests at the temple were doing new years rituals
were in China. People set them off the entire festival, but nothing was quite like that first night driving through Beijing on New Years Night.

We went with a Tour Company. Travel Guide China or something, I don’t know, I wasn’t paying attention. Seriously the tour guides we had were great though. Very informed, welcoming, and attentive to our needs. In China we saw the Forbidden City, Imperial Palace, Great Wall, Buddhist Temples, many cities, and LOTS of restaurants. My parents became more cultured, I practiced my Chinese.

The pictures say it all, so I’m going to keep this brief.

My parents are troopers. They ate scorpions, camel, and spit out bones right on the table. They both made me proud watching them hike all around China. On the Great Wall, down in the Terracotta Pits, exploring the caves of Guilin, they were adventurers. Fearless in whatever pursuit I took them (I had to be the guide for part of the trip).

Dad managed to learn more Chinese than I learned in 8 months. Unreal. I’m sure he could also now give a lecture on modern Chinese history. Any questions about Mao Ze Dong or current
CoolCoolCool

I dunno, I just like the picture. Inside the forbidden city.
political hierarchy in Beijing can now be directed to him.

My mom will be making a Chinese cookbook in the near future, as well as releasing her own book detailing her version of the trip on amazon.com. Mom was more prepared for this trip than any other moment in her life. Had the plane lost an engine, she’d a had a spare in her purse. I now am the proud owner of a lifetime supply of loperamide (anti-diarrheal) just in case.

One funny Anecdote.

I can speak Chinese. My parents cannot. Sometimes it better that your parents can’t understand.

The Bus station in Guangzhou was crazy. I had to lead my parents by myself from Guangzhou to Zhongshan. I have never seen it so crowded with people before and I’ve been there at least a dozen times. After buying tickets we had to try and find the correct gate to make sure we boarded the correct bus. The station was a madhouse, people everywhere, long lines, constant noise and confusing announcements. I had taken this bus a number of times, but due to the volume of people, they had changed the traditional gate number I usually
Muslim foodMuslim foodMuslim food

cooking on the street, smelled great (to me)
use. During the chaos, the pushing, and the shoving we managed to board the bus. I was pretty sure it was the right one. All of the tickets read Zhongshan, I thought.

Off the bus went, plodding along. My parents sat together directly in front of Me. We chatted calmly about the unending nature of the city. Meanwhile I am having a side conversation in Chinese with the lady next to me about where the bus is going. I asked a lady “where are you going?” She replied with a city that I didn’t want to go to. Oh no, I was about to have a panic attack. I’m taking my parents to the middle of nowhere in China. Do I tell them now we are screwed or do I wait until we get there and act confused. I rephrase my question “where are WE going?” She looks at me for a moment “WE aren’t going anywhere”. This isn’t helping. All the time I am still joyfully holding a conversation with my parents about the fascinating view. “Oh yeah, the city just never ends does it”. I try not to indicate we are on the fast track to lostville
Inside the Forbidden CityInside the Forbidden CityInside the Forbidden City

Lots of people, always, but strangely... we went during slow season
China hours away from help. A few apologies and clarifying later I learn we are headed the right way. I’m just happy they never knew... untill now.

Some thoughts.

The Great Wall was beautiful and not underwhelming as I have heard people say in the past. My parents meeting my girlfriend was far less terrifying than I had imagined (for me at least). I think I speak better Chinese than I give myself credit for. Leaving the final day was sad but I was so happy I had to the chance to see my family.

The pictures are coming in 2 blogs. The first is of Beijing and Xian. The second of the Guilin, Guangzhou, and Hong Kong. The second blog will contain a few stories but is mostly a photo drop. Pictures will do the talking. Thanks for tuning in! Thanks Mom and Dad! I wish everyone a happy Chinese New Year, Zai Jian.








Additional photos below
Photos: 81, Displayed: 25


Advertisement

the folksthe folks
the folks

it was really cold
lionlion
lion

ask my dad he knows what it means
forbidden cityforbidden city
forbidden city

larges open spaces, beautiful halls and only the king and his close buddies could ever see it
RoofRoof
Roof

Roof things have meaning...
Inside forbidden city roomInside forbidden city room
Inside forbidden city room

it felt cold and abandoned to me
silksilk
silk

lots of silk in China, and this is how they make thread. Those are silk cacoons
Pulling silkPulling silk
Pulling silk

Mom and Dad at the silk factory making a silk blanket
Our 1st driverOur 1st driver
Our 1st driver

Nice guy, he couldn't understand a word of my horrible Chinese
Summer PalaceSummer Palace
Summer Palace

This is the summer palace. I remember Tina tellings us it was basically the spoiled emperoress's hangout
more summer palacemore summer palace
more summer palace

Looking up at a temple above the summer palace
ma and pama and pa
ma and pa

They told me not to put a lot of pictures of them up in the blog, ha like thats happening
burning incenseburning incense
burning incense

at the temple people would just drop bushels of incense sticks into these big caldrons
I took a lot of picturesI took a lot of pictures
I took a lot of pictures

Typically I would run around snapping pictures while mom and dad became informed about Chinese history
Bhudist templeBhudist temple
Bhudist temple

I hope I spelled Bhudist right, it looks wrong to me
TempleTemple
Temple

The temple is Beijing is an active temple and this is where the monks would study
TerracottaTerracotta
Terracotta

The crazy part about the terracotta is they have only unearthed a REALLY small part of the whole thing. They are waiting for "better technology" to do the rest of the dig


21st March 2010

Touring China during the Spring Festival was fun - 7 planes, 5 ferries, 1 boat cruise, 1 subway, 1 bus trip (oh my!) and several taxicabs in 14 days. I learn a lot about China’s history, beautiful ancient buildings, 300 year old cypress trees & customs. The people were friendly and generous. The crowds were overwhelming but did offer me the chance to “rub shoulders” with the locals. Food – I love the dumplings, spring rolls, cabbage and pork dishes – I could get used to you pouring jasmine tea for me. Your Mandarin is good (impressive), whether you were bargaining for items, ordering dinner, or asking for directions - you took great care of us – Thank you. Love, Mom
22nd March 2010

random person
indeed you have great photos and very enjoyable reading your blog, thank you~
7th April 2010

Love the Pics & your writings
Chris, what great pictures of your trip. It really does look COLD. Nathan, your story telling & comments are fantastic. I could see your Mom's expressions through your writings! Thanks for sharing!

Tot: 0.289s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 16; qc: 74; dbt: 0.1126s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb