Day 3- Closed


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing » XiCheng District
April 5th 2012
Published: April 5th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Day 3 - Morning I stayed in as I am still a bit off. The uneaten dumplings from last night was turned into soup to help me feel better and it did. It was time to go as there is nothing much to do in Badaling except to see the Great Wall and I have skipped the Ming tombs part. I was looking forward to a less colder temperature in Beijing.

I finally get to enjoy the "scenic" train ride as I stayed awake. It was nice. As we neared the city a lot of the browns turned to some greens.

The subway in Beijng is cheap and systematic only that there are hoards of commuters and long stairs some of which are very steep. And it's no fun when you have a lot of bags to carry.

How I miss the lifts and escalators in SG.

The instruction said go south in my mind I thought south should be left but since I know I have a bad sense of direction I took the right turn instead. Along the way you get pestered by a lot of touts. In a foreign country where we accuse the western food chains of tainting the authenticity of a certain place for a lost tourist it's your oasis. Turns out I'm heading the right way. After settling in I decided to check out the nearby sights.

Drum tower - closed. Bell Tower - closed. Lama temple - closed. These sights close early around 4 pm. Bummer!😞 I have a long walk around the Houhai park on the way I finally found a store that sells lip balm. My lips are so dry it hurts when I move them.

I also walked from Yonghegong Lama Temple station to Beixinqiao station. I went on as the temple was already closed. I was not keen to check the hutongs as some don't have lighting. I saw a row of restaurants and stores tout attack again. I just pick a resto at random and tried some donkey meat for the first time. All the time I am imagining the picture of a donkey. Sorry Eeyore.

Then I got back to the hostel and lost track of time going through all the photos. 80% were awful. I must have shot over a thousand now. I got to bed past midnight so I doubt if I get to wake up in the morning. Though I planned to see all those closed attractions.

Thank you Lord I feel a lot better today.


Additional photos below
Photos: 31, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



9th April 2012

Poor Eeyore.. Haha!
Hurrah for not getting lost! (Well, at least on this entry, u still havent got lost yet.. hehe) Have fun while still being safe, k! Buy a map. :D
11th April 2012

Ha!
Getting lost is one of those things that you think is a misfortune but actually overall is a blessing :) I have map of Beijing but not of Luoyang where I got super lost. hehehe

Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.041s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb