Adventures in Food Part 3: Khmer


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia
March 27th 2012
Published: March 31st 2012
Edit Blog Post

One of my favourite things about Cambodia was the food. Khmer cuisine is full of flavour, spice, and delicious sauces - everything I look for in a good meal. From the famous Fish Amok to more "common" food like spicy noodles, my taste buds went crazy the entire time I was in Cambodia. I even ate a cricket, something I didn't think I would have the guts to do. It wasn't bad either - I would liken it to popcorn.



For anyone visiting Siem Reap, I would strongly recommend is having a meal at the New Hope Cambodia Training Restaurant. It is part of a fantastic charitable organization, New Hope Cambodia, that is focused on providing education, healthcare, general support, and skills to one of the most impoverished communities in Cambodia. We went for a meal there and it is by far the best meal I had while in Cambodia. The restaurant is designed to provide traditional Khmer dishes while helping to give training in cooking and hospitality to unskilled people. (www.newhopecambodia.com). Good food, good people, and a good cause. You can't get better than that.



New Hope also introduced me to my new food obsession - Kampot Pepper. I seriously think that it is the greatest seasoning I have ever come across. I purchased loads of it while in Cambodia and am going to happily drag it around with me for the next 3 months as I fear it will get confiscated if I try to ship it home (too precious to risk, even if I'm being paranoid).


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



1st April 2012

Khmer Food!
Hi Linda - Welcome to Cambodia and it's good to hear you have a great time! I came to the US in early 1981 after the genocide and I am planning to return to live in Cambodia next year. I had to hide in the ship from Sihanoukville Port and end up in Phillipines. Most of my family members were lost during the darkest year between 1979 - 1979. My home is in the US but my heart is still in Cambodia - Come and visit Cambodia again! Theary Minnesota, USA
1st April 2012

Looks good!
Did you get any recopies to go with the spice

Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0284s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb