Teaching English...in Takeo


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » South » Takéo
September 28th 2011
Published: September 28th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I've been in Cambodia 10 days now... and although I knew I would love this country... am amazed how much I reeeeeally love this country. The people are just incredible...the happiest people... they smile and laugh at everything... even when it rains to the point that their town is under water and their homes and shops are at risk. The children are just adorable. I want to adopt one already (or maybe 3).

The original idea was to go to Vietnam... and then possibly pop over to Cambodia.. however this trip has ended up being mostly Cambodia (for 1 month... or just under... I can stay 30 days on my visa) as I found voluntary work teaching at this orphanage in Takeo, which also meant that I could meet up with my little sister, Kim, who is working up in Siem Reap at a horse ranch. I shall spend the last 2 weeks travelling from South Vietnam up to Hanoi to fly back to London, via Seoul.

So I flew into Siem Reap on 18 September and spent 4 days there with Kim. We hired bikes and cycled around and she took me to the Happy Ranch where she works. I sampled a true Cambodian bbq, local restaurants, and treated ouselves to a 'Lucky Burger' !! Spent our last day out with the hosel's tuktuk driver who took us out from 9.30am to 4pm. Brilliant day, saw so many of the local villages, a beatutiful butterfly farm and finished off visiting a landmine museum. The tuktuk got stuck so Kim and I got out to push it out of the mud and water, wearing our lovely yellow and orange ponchos !!

The bus journey to Phnom Penh was memorable ... took 7 hours but seemed to go quickly apart from the last hour as the road was really bumpy and muddy. Went out that evening wandering around and met a lovely couple called Joe and Lucy (on honeymoon for 3 months) - 1 beer led to about 5 or 6 and think I got home at 2am. Needless to say, I didn't make the go-karting the next day we had talked about. Really hope to catch up with them in Vietnam. They are already there now.

Phnom Pemh is truly buzzing. Great place to spend a few days. Met Nicky on the Sunday night (lovely English girl who is working at the orphanage with me) and we spent 2 evenings together and all of Monday... went for a foot massage ($4) which was relaxing but also a bit painful!! then lunch then a boat trip on the river. The boat was called 'Love' !! and played music that you would expect at a karaoke in Korea :-) ($5 for just under an hour). Delicous dinner at Bojangles restaurant on our last night. Followed by a few local whisky's :-)

So now we're in Takeo (2 hour taxi journey) and spent the first day and a half exploring and getting to know the town. 2 girls (Lottie and Vicky) arrived today and we all went to a local village today to see some temples, meet the locals and lots of kids jumping in the lake, and then cycled into town to wander around the local market. Pretty sure we were the only 'non-locals' in town. Everyone so friendly, smiley and waving at us. Deliciou dinner cooked here at the volunteers house, whlst we chatted to Nev, the owner of the charity who manage the orphanage and has done since 2008 so just off to bed as it's going to be a long day teaching at the local school for a couple of hours after cycling an hour each way to 'Little Po', Then another cycle ride to the orphanage by the lake. I think we're going to the karaoke bar in town in the evening as it's Lottie and Vicky's last night. Will need a rest at the weekend...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.225s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0398s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb