Sihanoukville-The place I can never seem to leave


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » South » Sihanoukville
July 5th 2014
Published: July 5th 2014
Edit Blog Post

My second stop in Sihanoukville stole just a little bit of my heart.

There is just something about that sleepy little town that captured my heart. There are small little shops everywhere, happy people, and very angry street children. Even my hostel was full of wonderful people. One of the hardest things about traveling on my own has been constantly having to make friends. However, in Sihanoukville it just seemed to happen. I feel into a group of about 10 other travelers. I only meant to stay one day in Sihanoukville, and ended up spending five. There is just something so comforting of being with people who you just seem to click with.



Over our five days we did absolutely nothing. The highlight was me getting my Vietnam visa. Though I didn't do anything that exciting it was time well spent. Bartenders and waitresses new me by name, I made friends with the angry street children, and even had laughs with the tuk tuk drivers (hey you lady!)



Besides getting my visa done the other highlight of my second stay in Sihanoukville was having Mao (one of the waitresses at our hostel) take us on a local food tour. She taught us how to properly eat a cambodian pancake, as well as dog, and beef noodle soup. Was a delicious day.



I finally escaped Sihanoukville on a 20 hour sleeper bus. I swear every time i get on one of these buses they get smaller.



I have finally arrived in Ho Chi Minh. Exhausted, tired and dirty, but at least I am here. I plan on spending about two days here before moving to Da Lat. I'm a bit over cities and am really looking forward to spending some time outdoors.



Happy 4th of July America. In your honor...I spent 47 dollars on the entire harry potter series for my kindle.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0331s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb